Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cant configure Chromecast

FIXED
AlexB
Hooked

Cant configure Chromecast

Hiya, seeking help/ guidance/ Anything,

I've got a PN Sagem 2704N router. My family got me a Chromecast this week, and I cant get the two to talk to each other - the C/cast works and seems to be seeking a network (flashing white light) but it doesn't seem to be picking up my wifi network - Router is in direct line of sight and about 10ft away.

I'm not a techie, but am comfortable accessing the Router's settings menus, if there's anyone out there......

Cheers, and hoping for your help oh great esteemed ones in the Plusnet Community

12 REPLIES 12
VileReynard
Hero
Fixes: 20

Re: Cant configure Chromecast

Does this help - I don't understand Chrome...

http://www.howtogeek.com/199565/mirror-anything-from-your-computer-to-your-tv-using-google-chromecas...

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 392

@AlexB,

Hi , I assume you are trying to setup the Chromecast using the Google Home app https://support.google.com/chromecast/answer/2998456?hl=en-GB .

How far along the setup are you getting ? does the app 'see' the Chromecast initially and allow you to put in the wifi details for your router ?

I've set up my Chromecast on quite a few wifi networks in the past and only had trouble with one...

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

AlexB
Hooked

Thanks for the quick response, I'm using a Win 10 pc, have downloaded Chrome, got the Chromecast add-on.
The Chrome software can't find the Cast unit, and I assume the flashing white light on the cast unit is seeking my wifi network, to no avail.

I've tried adjusting some of the settings on the Router, UpnP etc as Google suggest - a couple I can't access, AP being one.

Minivanman
Legend
Fixes: 1