cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can anyone recommend a freeware Registry Cleaner ?

shermans
Pro
Fixes: 3

Can anyone recommend a freeware Registry Cleaner ?

I have been using ccleaner to maintain my registry for many years, and have been perfectly satisfied with the results.  However, recently I have been tempted twice to try alternative products, claiming to be freeware.  On both occasions, the trial scan alleges to have found 1000 problem registry entries.  With both products, when you go to fix them you then discover that there is a price attached after all.
I suspect that these are scams, frankly.  I do not want to throw good money after bad, and businesses which pretend to offer freeware, but who are actually trying to sell their product leave me always suspicious.
I realise that there is no such thing as a free meal, but there is no point in paying £30 for a product which really does no more than the genuine freeware ccleaner
So can any comment on these various Registry Cleaners ?  Do they really offer good value for money or not ?  Do they actually do anything more than ccleaner ? Unless there really is going to be a performance difference, (not that I am complaing about my current performance), then I prefer to follow the old saying "If it ain't broke, don't fix it !
18 REPLIES 18
HPsauce
Pro
Fixes: 2

Re: Can anyone recommend a freeware Registry Cleaner ?

I use Microsoft's own tool built into the Onecare scanner at http://onecare.live.com/site/en-US/default.htm
(I'm sure there's a UK site too, but Registry cleaners don't care)
Denzil
Grafter

I have heard many tales of registry cleaners that report loads of false problems in an effort to make you buy them, and malware that pretends to be a registry cleaner and reports loads of problems in an effort to get you to install it.