cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can anyone help an old dinosaur.

DJC
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 02-09-2016

Can anyone help an old dinosaur.

I was on a live chat with a guy from Samsung smarthings, trying to connect a wifi camera to the smart hub. we didn't fix the problem but want to know how to make it so that my wifi and ethernet devices are on the same subnet. That should allow the hub to detect the ca,era

4 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,768
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 19
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: Can anyone help an old dinosaur.

Surely they are on the same subnet?  You don't have one network for Ethernet and a different one for wifi, that wouldn't make sense.

DJC
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 02-09-2016

Re: Can anyone help an old dinosaur.

Thats what i thought, but when i gave the guy the i.p. address for the hub and the camera, he told me they were on different 

PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,077
Thanks: 44
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Can anyone help an old dinosaur.

So one of them isn't using DHCP and has an IP address that is not in the DHCP subnet.

Phil

Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
MJN
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,093
Thanks: 39
Fixes: 2
Registered: 26-08-2010

Re: Can anyone help an old dinosaur.


DJC wrote:

Thats what i thought, but when i gave the guy the i.p. address for the hub and the camera, he told me they were on different 


What were the addresses?