Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I share files using my webspace?

Buggwrit
Rising Star
Fixes: 2

Can I share files using my webspace?

Hi,

I'm not sure if this is the right section for this question. If not Mods please feel free to move it.

I have 256Mb of standard webspace (inherited from an earlier account as I'm not a business user). I would like to use it to share a 215Mb MPEG2 file with a family member and wondered if this is possible. In all the years I've had the webspace I've never attempted to use it so have no idea what I need to do and as a complete novice I haven't found the help information very useful.

If anyone can confirm if this is possible and give me a step-by-step guide I should be very grateful.

9 REPLIES 9
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 3

Re: Can I share files using my webspace?

You would be better off using google drive, OneDrive, dropbox or similar. Certainly easier to share.

Baldrick1
Fixes: 417

Do a Google search for Large File Transfer. There's loads of companies who will allow you transfer a file of a few gigs (or less) free of charge.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Buggwrit
Rising Star

Thank you both for your responses. Maybe I'm a bit paranoid but I'm not that keen on using file hosting services for security reasons. If it's not practical to use Plusnet's webspace I'd rather just use a memory stick.

Baldrick1
Fixes: 417

But you’re happy to share your data with Plusnet?

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Buggwrit
Rising Star

I wouldn't say 'happy' but as I already have to have an account with them for my broadband using the webspace doesn't increase the risk. From what I've read some of the free hosting sites have had security issues so I prefer to avoid using them.

dvorak
Fixes: 1,483

Moderators Note