Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CSS help Please

shutter
Community Veteran
Fixes: 65

CSS help Please

Please Help. I need to re-design my website, so that I can add another "page/album" without the tedious work involved at present, adding a new html line to every page to include all previous links, and the new one.... As I understand it, CSS does this with just one change.... However, I do not know how to work with CSS, nor which program is best to use...
I have seen plenty of  free CSS type programs, but I do not want to download them all to find out none are suitable. !!
Ideally, what I would like is a program that I can drag and drop my "home page" onto, and this then produces the necessary CSS to add as a "front" to the remainder pages/albums.  Am I thinking in the right direction? or is it more difficult than this?
11 REPLIES 11
RobDickson
Grafter

Re: CSS help Please

I'm not an expert, but I'm fairly sure that CSS isn't the answer to your question. I code my site using Notebook, so can't recommend a package that does what you want, but you might want to keep an eye on another thread:
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,71883.0.html
Denzil
Grafter

CSS is for determining the layout of a page, not for content. So, for example, a CSS stylesheet file will define colours, font sizes, widths of columns, position of header box and that sort of thing. The content for each page sits in an HTML file, and doesn't include styling (well it can, but I don't want to overcomplicate it :)), rather just invokes the styling from the stylesheet. That way, if it is laid out logically, it is fairly easy to make global changes to say a font colour with one change to one file.