Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CAD Workstation

Strat
Community Veteran
Fixes: 565

CAD Workstation

Our Technical Manager has asked me to acquire a CAD Workstation.
I am currently drawing up a spec...any suggestions?
We are talking 64 bit.
Windows 10 Firefox 109.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
7 REPLIES 7
Denzil
Grafter

Re: CAD Workstation

Do you use 2D or 3D? 2D draughting will work fine on any reasonably up to date PC. £D solid modelling is a different kettle of fish. I am a designer myself, and have recently been given a new PC. 3D CAD generally benefits from lots of RAM, depending how complex the model is, so you would benefit from a 64-bit OS to be able to address it all. Good CAD software will be able to make the most of multicore processors. Hard drives depend whether you are storing files locally or on a network drive. You may benefit from a relatively small fast HD to run the software, say a SSD or a SAS drive, and have a standard drive for storage.
3D CAD does benefit from a good graphics card. It is best to get a card that is designed for CAD and DCC rather than gaming. The ATI FireGL  and NVIDIA Quadro ranges are normally recommended.
For reference, here are the specs of my PC, running Solidworks 2009, amongst other things.
AMD Phenom II X4 810
8GB RAM
64GB SSD (storage is all on a network fileserver so I don't need a big local drive)
ATI FireGL V7200
Vista 64