cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband speed test

FIXED
Community Veteran
Posts: 7,328
Thanks: 77
Fixes: 2
Registered: 30-08-2007

Broadband speed test

Is there a speed test that doesn't require Adobe Flash Player?

The Plusnet one does, so does the BTW Performance test that I have on this PC.

Keep on hearing that Flash Player is full of security holes.

Experience; is something you gain, just after you needed it most.

When faced with two choices, simply toss a coin. It works not because it settles the question for you. But because in that brief moment while the coin is in the air. You suddenly know what you are hoping for.
9 REPLIES
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Broadband speed test

Have you tried the TBB one HTML Thumbs Up

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
TheRoadCrew
Rising Star
Posts: 74
Thanks: 14
Fixes: 3
Registered: 14-05-2017

Re: Broadband speed test

Fix

petlew wrote:

Is there a speed test that doesn't require Adobe Flash Player?

speedtest.net

Web

or

trc@chromebook:~$ speedtest-cli --simple
Ping: 12.093 ms
Download: 51.66 Mbit/s
Upload: 3.02 Mbit/s

 


 

Community Veteran
Posts: 7,328
Thanks: 77
Fixes: 2
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Broadband speed test

Thank you.

@TheRoadCrew It certainly works. Noticed it was a beta version. Also noticed the legacy site requires Adobe Flash.

Haven't tried the other two posted yet.

Experience; is something you gain, just after you needed it most.

When faced with two choices, simply toss a coin. It works not because it settles the question for you. But because in that brief moment while the coin is in the air. You suddenly know what you are hoping for.
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,983
Thanks: 265
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Broadband speed test

Try http://speedof.me/

No Flash or Java & doesn't appeared to be bothered by ad blockers.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,945
Thanks: 1,745
Fixes: 133
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Broadband speed test

....Although when I run it...

SpeedofMe.JPG

I believe it is Kaspersky doing the blocking.

Not complaining about the results though Wink

SpeedofMe2.JPG

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 8,520
Thanks: 939
Fixes: 9
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: Broadband speed test

But how accurate
are speed checkers ? Having tried several including those mentioned above my download speed has varied from 22Mb to 32Mb.

 

TheRoadCrew
Rising Star
Posts: 74
Thanks: 14
Fixes: 3
Registered: 14-05-2017

Re: Broadband speed test


gleneagles wrote:

Having tried several including those mentioned above my download speed has varied from 22Mb to 32Mb.

Any number of factors can affect recorded download speeds, including:

Time of day

Distance from server

Proximity to router if you're using WiFi. 


 

VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,983
Thanks: 265
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Broadband speed test

You wouldn't use wifi for a speedtest.

However, any one speedtest should be consistent between tests, even if different speedcheckers vary between themselves.

TheRoadCrew
Rising Star
Posts: 74
Thanks: 14
Fixes: 3
Registered: 14-05-2017

Re: Broadband speed test

VileReynard wrote:

You wouldn't use wifi for a speedtest.

The speedtest result I posted previously was done on WiFi:

trc@chromebook:~$ speedtest-cli --simple
Ping: 12.093 ms
Download: 51.66 Mbit/s
Upload: 3.02 Mbit/s

In part because, unless I believe there's a problem with the service, the results are unimportant and in part because the result I get with a device using ethernet

trc@bunsen:~$ speedtest-cli --simple
Ping: 12.283 ms
Download: 52.26 Mbits/s
Upload: 2.97 Mbits/s

isn't neccessarily significantly better.

YMMV