Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband signal leakage

Leapy
Seasoned Champion
Fixes: 3

Broadband signal leakage

Excuse my ignorance but is broadband  signal leakage a problem with copper wire and does fibre have the same issue (and if so, to what extent)?

14 REPLIES 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Broadband signal leakage

@Leapy - Consider it excused.

Leapy
Seasoned Champion

@Anonymous thank you for your forgiveness and excellent technical knowledge. Funny

Anonymous
Not applicable

Well I'm no expert so I couldn't answer I just simply provided the forgiveness in advance of the answers from those that do know Wink

shutter
Community Veteran
Fixes: 65

@Leapy    
@Leapy wrote:

Excuse my ignorance but is broadband  signal leakage a problem with copper wire and does fibre have the same issue (and if so, to what extent)?

As @Anonymous has already excused you....  perhaps you would need to get a plumber in with an RF sniffer device to check for leakages on the copper wires.. but not sure how to check with fibre........

Leapy
Seasoned Champion

I understand that signal strength and the length is an issue with copper wire signal and not so much with fibre.

Wire and fibre damage may be an issue?

Environmental variables like heat, cold, moisture may be an issue?, but I don't know. 

shutter
Community Veteran
Fixes: 65

Signal strength and length of wire,  the reduction in speed over the line is caused, (I think).. by the resistance of the wire.... therefore, the longer the wire, the more resistance,... therefore the longer the wire, the less speed at the far end of it...

Presumably Fibre is faster as there is less resistance over length....

So, your "leakage" question is not like the signal is leaking out of the wire, as in a plumbing leak..... 

Anonymous
Not applicable

@Leapy - You keep referring to fibre, bu this do you mean true fibre as in a light source?

Leapy
Seasoned Champion