cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband dropping out - think it could be connected to Sky

chatsworth

Broadband dropping out - think it could be connected to Sky

I have just helped my friend get connected online with Plusnet.  However having established a connection initially, it is now constantly dropping out and trying to reconnect.
She is a complete novice and so requires me to go over there to fix it if i can.
From my own experience i know that it's very easy to have an interruption on the line through dodgy extension cables and the like, however i didn't actually realise that her husbands sky box could be linked to the telephone socket, and am now wondering if this may be the problem.
She has three phones in operation, all these sockets i have put a microfilter in place.  However the socket in the living room, had a splitter in the socket with two cables coming out.  I unplugged the splitter, put a microfilter in the socket and then put the splitter into the microfilter.  Having googled this it seems i have done the right thing, however the connection keeps dropping.
I didn't actually look to see what cables were sitting in the splitter, i am assuming one phone and the sky box.  If this is the case should the configuration be any different?  Is it worth me buying a new splitter? 
I have put the router upstairs in one of the bedroom but i wonder whether i should attach it to the master socket?  Does the master socket look any different to the slave sockets or do you have to unscrew the front facing to see which is the master?
Thank you for any help.
2 REPLIES 2
shutter
Community Veteran
Fixes: 65

Re: Broadband dropping out - think it could be connected to Sky

The sky box may be part of the problem...... can you disconnect it from the phone line...... for a short period, (an hour or so) and do a BT speed test......