cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Blank website?

sheepshagger
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 09-01-2008

Blank website?

Can someone explain the following scenario. I am unable to access GuardianUnlimited's website via Firefox. All I get is a white page and "done" in the bottom left corner. I have been blocking ad's with adblock. I have disabled adblock but it still comes up blank. Any link pages via google come up blank too I have tried other browsers(I.E and safari) and they work o.k.
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,777
Thanks: 1,610
Fixes: 19
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Blank website?

What is the URL.... I`ll give it a go , and see what happens....
sheepshagger
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 09-01-2008

Re: Blank website?

Community Veteran
Posts: 17,777
Thanks: 1,610
Fixes: 19
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Blank website?

Hi Taff. (!)  It works for me...
Sign inRegister
Text larger
smaller
February 26 2008 | Last updated 12 minutes ago
Search:  guardian.co.uk Web 
The above was supposed to be a copy and paste of the header.....
sheepshagger
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 09-01-2008

Re: Blank website?

you used firefox?
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,777
Thanks: 1,610
Fixes: 19
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Blank website?

Nope........IE6  Smiley
sheepshagger
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 09-01-2008

Re: Blank website?

Oh, I'm not Welsh. But i do live among lot's of sheep
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,777
Thanks: 1,610
Fixes: 19
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Blank website?

Just a guess, as in the R.N. that was the generic term for a Welshman.... Grin  Shocked
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Blank website?

hello welly boyo,  I have firefox 2 and adblock and this
sheepshagger
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 09-01-2008

Re: Blank website?

Cheers. It must be something at my end
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Blank website?

1) reboot everything including router
2) try with software firewalls disabled
3) try with any A/V software disabled
Works fine here on FF2.0.0.12 and IE7 so likely to be something local.
sheepshagger
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 09-01-2008

Re: Blank website?

Did a system restore. no change. At the moment have firefox as default and IE as guardian homepage. I will NOT be defeated. Thanks for your input
sheepshagger
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 09-01-2008

Re: Blank website?

Oh, I think safari is inferior to firefox
sheepshagger
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 09-01-2008

Re: Blank website?

Imported settings and data, eveything now O.K. Computers, who'd have them!