cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bios password

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,462
Thanks: 1,212
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-12-2010

Bios password

A quick question , i have a friends laptop needs a reinstall win7 but cant get Into Bios as its pasworded and wont let me boot from disc or USB Sad

so which is easiest way to get into Bios ?  and no its too aquard to get to battery

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
15 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,768
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 19
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: Bios password

If your friend set a BIOS password then forgot it there is nothing you can do yourself.  Send the computer to a service agent for the manufacturer with proof of purchase and pay for it to be reset.

A few machines have a default BIOS password set by the manufacturer (!?!) in which case you should be able to look it up.  I had to do this a few months ago; the password was a four digit number that varied according to the date setting.

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,949
Thanks: 359
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Bios password

The BIOS password on my old laptop doesn't actually protect the boot menu, you can't get into the BIOS settings without the password, but you can still press the key to get to the boot menu and then choose to boot from a CD or USB.

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,462
Thanks: 1,212
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Bios password

Its a Old 2005 sony Vaio , it was reset at a shop but he wants £25 to do it again , he reset it to win 10 .

But friend wants win7 but shop put a password on Bios after 3 attempts it lock you out Sad

Tried default Sony Bios pasword 1234567 , plus a few more but no luck Sad

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,984
Thanks: 1,153
Fixes: 28
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Bios password

@rongtw - Pulling the CMOS battery would be the way to do it but it's not the easiest of tasks. Have you seen this article on the Sony community site? It may, or may not be of use, but worth a read all the same.

Community Veteran
Posts: 17,023
Thanks: 1,217
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Bios password

@rongtw seems to be plenty of options to try on this page...

 

https://www.google.co.uk/?gws_rd=ssl#q=bios+password+reset

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,768
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 19
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: Bios password

That's extortion.  It's not moral for a shop to create a BIOS password and not tell you what it is.  But the charge of £25 seems very reasonable to get a working computer if you have a computer that does not work at the moment.  Is there more to this than your friend is telling you?

A computer from 2005 would have been supplied running Windows XP.  If it ever ran Windows 7 it must have been upgraded.  You will need the licence key for the upgrade to get it back to Windows 7 even after you can access the BIOS.  On the other hand if it can legitimately run Windows 10 (as an upgrade over an upgrade) then you can re-install that without having to find the Windows 7 licence key.

 

 

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,462
Thanks: 1,212
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Bios password

looks like he will have to get password from shop Sad as i dont want ot take it apart to find battery on Motherboard .

It starts in win7 , shuts down saying windows found corrupt files,tried install from win7 but cant wipe disc unless start from boot , but bios is set HD boot only Sad

Hopefully they will give him password

Thanks for all help Smiley

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,022
Thanks: 540
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Bios password

Forget removing the battery from a laptop to clear the CMOS - that trick hasn't worked for decades. I have an old HP upstairs that I tried it with and it cleared nothing.

 

Desktop computers yes it usually works but laptops are ultra nickable and so the hardware vendors blocked it moons ago.

I cracked the screen putting the HP back together. Not something I'd recommend to others really.

I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,896
Thanks: 1,197
Fixes: 50
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Bios password

There's often a jumper pin pair on the motherboard that needs shorting to clear the BIOS and load a default.

However opening up a laptop is not something to be done lightly or by the inexperienced.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 17,023
Thanks: 1,217
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Bios password


rongtw wrote:

Its a Old 2005 sony Vaio , it was reset at a shop but he wants £25 to do it again , he reset it to win 10 .

But friend wants win7 but shop put a password on Bios after 3 attempts it lock you out Sad

Tried default Sony Bios pasword 1234567 , plus a few more but no luck Sad



Did you try putting 1234567 into the box on this page?  

 

 

https://bios-pw.org/

 

it returns some other passwords, .... but, of course,... if the shop made one up, like the managers birthday, then there is not much hope ...

 

Here is a video tutorial that may help.....

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6EeIPSWhgLc

 

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,462
Thanks: 1,212
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Bios password

Cheers yes i did try the default password , and a few other i found , with no Avail Sad
he  is going to shop today see what they say
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,984
Thanks: 1,153
Fixes: 28
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Bios password

@rongtw - If it's not to late you should ask him to ask them why they reset it in the first place, if I were paying for it I'd have had it removed, never mind reset.

Community Veteran
Posts: 14,022
Thanks: 540
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Bios password


Strat wrote:

There's often a jumper pin pair on the motherboard that needs shorting to clear the BIOS and load a default.


Again on most desktops yes thats correct but experience has taught me that on laptops thats a myth because otherwise there would be no deterrent against theft.

I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,462
Thanks: 1,212
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Bios password

He called into shop this afternoon, it's run by a young Polish chap ,,,,
Told him his engineer is off sick 😤
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .