cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bing.com and a long-running script

penneck
Grafter
Posts: 660
Thanks: 8
Registered: 03-08-2007

Bing.com and a long-running script

Just lately, I have been having a frequent problem when using Bing Maps. It keeps locking up and I get a message that Bing.com isn't responding because of a long-running script. I often have to use Task Manager to kill the process (and even that isn't particularly quick to do the kill).

Any suggestions please

Thanks

 

 

15 REPLIES
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,452
Thanks: 1,208
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Bing.com and a long-running script

GOOGLE maps Cool

always found Bing to be poor at anything

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,011
Thanks: 1,209
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Bing.com and a long-running script

i used to use Tom-Tom live traffic , but since they stopped it being "open"  I have changed to Bing maps, as opposed to Google maps, because Bing does give "some" indication on the main routes, of the traffic situation, whereas Google does not..

 

Never had a problem such as the O.P. is having though...

 

EDIT EDIT EDIT   20 mins after the above ....

 

Just been to Bing Maps and checking traffic... i got the "unresponive script" after scrolling the map a bit, and also "magnifying" it to get closer to the traffic level,....  then it disappeared after clicking the X and also the  forum disappeared too ! ..

 

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,292
Thanks: 226
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-08-2009

Re: Bing.com and a long-running script

@shutter

 

My copies of Google maps on both a laptop and a tablet shows live traffic on most roads with info taken from the National Traffic feed. Don't you have a "traffic" button on your copy?

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,376
Thanks: 585
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Bing.com and a long-running script

@penneck

Do you by chance having any ad-blocking software/Ghostery addon active when visiting Bing Maps? This could be the issue as I have noticed on some sites where I block ads that the page loading icon spins for a very long time. It loads quickly when the adblocker is deactivated.

Community Veteran
Posts: 17,011
Thanks: 1,209
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Bing.com and a long-running script

@nozzer  Well, it wasn`t "obvious"   ... but thanks for the headsup!... found it in that stupid "menu" icon, that looks like a loaf of sliced bread... whatever happened to using Plain Language menu`s... or even the word " Menu "..

 

@penneck  I use Ghostrey, and an adblocker... never thought it would cause long loading times, but thanks again for info... will bear it in mind if I have problems..

penneck
Grafter
Posts: 660
Thanks: 8
Registered: 03-08-2007

Re: Bing.com and a long-running script

This is a reply to all of you that have been good enough to reply so far.

I used to use Google Maps, but it changed to Bing Maps - I thought that it was the same thing under a different name. I don't use it for traffic details - I didn't know it could be used for that, but then my desktop doesn't work very well in my car

I'm not using an ad blocker, or not that I know of, nor do I use Ghostrey.

The problem seems to kick off when I change the scale of the map or move it around, which I believe is the same symptoms that one of you had, though I don't remember a suggested solution. I'll go back to your replies and take another look

Thanks

 

 

penneck
Grafter
Posts: 660
Thanks: 8
Registered: 03-08-2007

Re: Bing.com and a long-running script

Just a bit more, now that I have reread the earlier replies. When I get the message about the script, I can get rid of this message by hitting the X, but Bing Maps is still frozen, hence I used Task Master to kill Bing Maps

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,292
Thanks: 226
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-08-2009

Re: Bing.com and a long-running script

@penneck

What browser and OS are you using?

Community Veteran
Posts: 17,011
Thanks: 1,209
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Bing.com and a long-running script

Yeah.. I had/have the same problem when moving the map around... suddenly stops and freezes then get the message ...   using Palemoon...  ( latest , up to datest version )...

penneck
Grafter
Posts: 660
Thanks: 8
Registered: 03-08-2007

Re: Bing.com and a long-running script

I'm using Win 7 and Internet Explorer

Bing Maps was fine until a few weeks ago. I have now tried using their Feedback, and have given them my e-mail address, so they can contact me. Perhaps they know of this problem already, but if they do why haven't they fixed it?

Will let the forum know if I get anything from them

Cheers

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,365
Thanks: 620
Registered: 23-09-2010

Re: Bing.com and a long-running script

I had a very similar problem with ebay a few weeks ago. But that also coincided when ebay had site problems of their own.

Maybe your problem with bing is down to a problem bing is having.

 

--------------------------------------------

 

I see what you mean. Zoomed in and out fine a couple of goes. Went to a postcode zoomed in and out a bit then.........up pops the error window.

I'm using palemoon the last one before the engine change.

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,292
Thanks: 226
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-08-2009

Re: Bing.com and a long-running script

@penneck

This thread has some ideas... http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/ie/forum/ie9-windows_7/internet-explorer-9-not-responding-due-to-...

The OP was having problems with locking up in Bing Maps, and on the first page someone called Londalou suggested a fix which later in the thread seems to have produced some results.

HI Smiley  I am the one who started this conversation and I THINK I MAY HAVE SOLVED the problem.  I am not holding my breath...but so far since I tried this solution...I haven't had any issures....so I am holding my breath.  OK...what you need to TRY...is to to TOOLS.  Click on INTERNET OPTION.  Than go to ADVANCE TAB...and CLICK RESET.  Make sure all your programs/website is not on there..except the one you're having access to TOOLS.  After you click RESET...put a check mark even next to Personal Settings too.  Than click OK.  Than it will do its thing.  THAN you'll need to REBOOT.  NOW I did this last night...and was nervous to use the computer today.  I got help from a friend and he said to try this method.  AND SO FAR...as I hold my breath...I havent had any issures...so far.  Go do this..seriously Smiley

Other suggestions seem to be centred on Google Toolbar and a recently installed copy of Chrome. Worth scanning through it.

penneck
Grafter
Posts: 660
Thanks: 8
Registered: 03-08-2007

Re: Bing.com and a long-running script

Hello nozzer,

Thanks for your help. I looked at the website you suggested, but I didn't understand some of the suggestion there, so I looked at what others had suggested there. Some recommended a system restore, so that is what I have tried. To my surprise I only had one restore point - 2 days ago a critical update - so I used that. So far it looks like the problem has gone.

My thanks to you and to all the others who tried to help

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,292
Thanks: 226
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-08-2009

Re: Bing.com and a long-running script

It might be worth doing a full scan with Malwarebytes and your antivirus. Something is stopping more than just your Bing maps working!