cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT home hub not that brilliant

glloyd
Rising Star
Posts: 1,664
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 1
Registered: 06-04-2007

BT home hub not that brilliant

Maybe I have been spoiled using Draytek routers for many years but I find the BT home hub 4r not what it's all cracked up to be. For a start the user instructions are very basic indeed and give no information other that connecting to the web. The user interface is the most complicated I have come across with you having to hunt around to try to figure out what you want to do. My connection speed was almost 2meg down on the Draytek and the port forwarding seems to work when it feels like it. Being a BT product and with all the boasting about how good the WiFi was I was expecting something special instead I got a poor connection speed and poor WiFi coverage. With my Draytek I get full 4 bars in my bedroom, with the BT Home hub I could only get one with a bit of fiddling. Maybe that's why they have to advertise it so much, it would not sell otherwise.
8 REPLIES
beeceegee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 534
Thanks: 37
Fixes: 3
Registered: 27-11-2012

Re: BT home hub not that brilliant

Quote from: glloyd
.........I find the BT home hub 4r not what it's all cracked up to be....

I thought it was only BT who cracked up the HH to be anything  Wink
nadger
Rising Star
Posts: 4,498
Thanks: 46
Registered: 13-04-2007

Re: BT home hub not that brilliant

I purchased unused HH4, on Bay, at beginning of this year and very pleased with it  Smiley
Adsl connection is what I'd expect and has been stable.
No problems with 2.4Ghz wi-fi - most of usage is streaming using Roku.
glloyd
Rising Star
Posts: 1,664
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 1
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: BT home hub not that brilliant

I suppose it depends on what you have been using before. I have found several routers give a lower ADSL connect speed than my Draytek 2710n .
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: BT home hub not that brilliant

Since they are locked down and limited to BT (or PN) then they are not that great, when I had a HH3 installed a short while ago (to diagnose a problem else where) I found the lack of control to be very limited. No telnet access the web pages are limited in what you can do, something like change an ip address is not allowed etc etc.
For a FREE router they are much better than some worse than others. As a purchased router there are better out there.
glloyd
Rising Star
Posts: 1,664
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 1
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: BT home hub not that brilliant

The Home Hub 4r is for use on other ISP's so not locked.
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: BT home hub not that brilliant

Do they do a version of the HH5 unlocked for other ISP's ?Huh
glloyd
Rising Star
Posts: 1,664
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 1
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: BT home hub not that brilliant

Not so far. If it's anything like the 4r they can keep it.
Kevin
Rising Star
Posts: 154
Thanks: 12
Registered: 12-10-2007

Re: BT home hub not that brilliant

I'm using a HH5 on Plusnet with no problems at all. I just did a manual setup of it rather than using their wizard.
Kevin.