cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Speedtest on Apple etc.

Oldjim
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,034
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

BT Speedtest on Apple etc.

Quote from: _Adam_Walker_
We're also producing support videos now, here's one about broadband speed checks: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tKnZUl3kc3Y&list=PLZx9FPn3_-IWW7WetOtIy8JV4reZCA0MU
I watched the video and it states that you can't run the speed test as Apple and Android don't support Flash
Can I have some comments/suggestions for the misguided souls who don't have a proper computer  Grin Roll_eyes
23 REPLIES 23
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: ‎08-12-2013

Re: BT Speedtest on Apple etc.

I use the Speedtest.net App on all Droid devices, however I will test since I am also curious Wink
Tested  http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ & see & it won't let me choose yes or no
http://diagnostics.bt.com/login/?workflow=Speed redirects to http://www.BT.com/help & says
Quote
You will need to be connected to your laptop or desktop computer in order to perform an accurate seed test.
with no options to carry out a speedtest
A quick look in the App store does not show ant BTSpeedtest see https://play.google.com/store/search?q=BT%20speedtest&c=apps&hl=en
It seems that they have Apss for Wifi / Sport SmartTalk / Cloud / Mobile Express, yet not a single one for Speed, see https://play.google.com/store/search?q=BT&c=apps&hl=en
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,425
Thanks: 6,255
Fixes: 1,453
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: BT Speedtest on Apple etc.

Quote from: Oldjim
Quote from: _Adam_Walker_
We're also producing support videos now, here's one about broadband speed checks: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tKnZUl3kc3Y&list=PLZx9FPn3_-IWW7WetOtIy8JV4reZCA0MU
I watched the video and it states that you can't run the speed test as Apple and Android don't support Flash
Can I have some comments/suggestions for the misguided souls who don't have a proper computer  Grin Roll_eyes

they need to be more specific iOS doesn't support flash, Mac OS X does and you can run all the speedtests with no issues.
having not watched the video, not sure if that's clear or not. trusing your old ears here Jim Wink
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
chenks76
All Star
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 338
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: BT Speedtest on Apple etc.

Quote from: Oldjim
Quote from: _Adam_Walker_
We're also producing support videos now, here's one about broadband speed checks: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tKnZUl3kc3Y&list=PLZx9FPn3_-IWW7WetOtIy8JV4reZCA0MU
I watched the video and it states that you can't run the speed test as Apple and Android don't support Flash
Can I have some comments/suggestions for the misguided souls who don't have a proper computer  Grin Roll_eyes

either the video is wrong or your ears are mishearing.
flash of course works on "apple", and by apple i assume they mean any system running Mac OS X.
of course, iOS doesn't support Flash, but you wouldn't be running a BTW speedtest on a wireless mobile device anyway surely.
android, depends which version of android, early versions do, current versions don't.
but again, why would anyone run a BTW speedtest on a wireless mobile device?
Oldjim
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,034
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: BT Speedtest on Apple etc.

Nothing wrong with my hearing 1 min 18 secs in
chenks76
All Star
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 338
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: BT Speedtest on Apple etc.

so the video is wrong then.....
Oldjim
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,034
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: BT Speedtest on Apple etc.

Raised here http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,132889.0.html along with a few other things
30FTTC06
Pro
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 108
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: BT Speedtest on Apple etc.

TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: ‎08-12-2013

Re: BT Speedtest on Apple etc.

That's conclusive that MAC will run a speedtest albeit in Beta
However will it run the BT Speedtester(s) as linked above ?Huh
30FTTC06
Pro
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 108
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: BT Speedtest on Apple etc.

NO, nor does the thinkbroadband test work either...
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,425
Thanks: 6,255
Fixes: 1,453
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: BT Speedtest on Apple etc.

Quote from: TORPC
That's conclusive that MAC will run a speedtest albeit in Beta

eh? i use the tbb one in chrome and it's fine, speedtest works in safari.
i'd stick to windows if I were you.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
30FTTC06
Pro
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 108
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: BT Speedtest on Apple etc.

Pic 1 Firefox
pic2 Safari
Not on mine it don't ?
Edit: pics corrected...
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,425
Thanks: 6,255
Fixes: 1,453
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: BT Speedtest on Apple etc.

no such message here
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
30FTTC06
Pro
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 108
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: BT Speedtest on Apple etc.

You can make is as big as you like... your obviously running flash plugin or other, this is a stock mac with firefox installed period, IE which as others have pointed out doesn't WORK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: ‎08-12-2013

Re: BT Speedtest on Apple etc.

Quote from: dvorak
Quote from: TORPC
That's conclusive that MAC will run a speedtest albeit in Beta

eh? i use the tbb one in chrome and it's fine, speedtest works in safari.
i'd stick to windows if I were you.

The one I was referring to is the one linked from 11110_110 (which is "the new beta version of the thinkbroadband speed test." http://labs.thinkbroadband.com/ispa/

Which 11110_110's Screenshot in the post immediately above mine, clearly shows it working on his MAC