Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Is Cold Calling

Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

BT Is Cold Calling

Hi All 
BT is cold calling Broadband users See: Broadband ISP Aquiss Accuses BT of Cold Calling, has this happened to any PlusNet users?
14 REPLIES 14
198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Fixes: 41

Re: BT Is Cold Calling

Yes, a few weeks ago. The CLI wasn't the usual BT one, and somehow it just didn't sound like BT, but the guy knew my BT customer number. He waffled on about how my exchange was being 'upgraded', and how marvellous BT broadband was.
As an ex-BT transmission engineer I was able to challenge the waffle, and he was totally unable to substantiate it, but the sales patter continued just as strongly.
Murphy was an optimist
Zen FTTC 40/10 + Digital Voice   FRITZ!Box 7530
BT technician (Retired)
shutter
Community Veteran
Fixes: 65

Don`t know if this is relevant..... had a phone call yesterday, asking for me by name, when I asked who was calling, he wanted me to confirm who I was, I asked again,"who are you ?"  and he said "don`t be rude"  then put the phone down !....  Roll_eyes
Never did ring back, and I`m not bothered.... if it was that important he would call again... ! Smiley
HPsauce
Pro
Fixes: 2

A few methods I use:
1. Registered with the TPS and have caller-id (free via BT)
2. If it says "international" I either let it go to the answering machine or lift the receiver and just listen - 99% are unwanted calls.
3. If I do answer I just give the number (without exchange name/code), polite and friendly of course
4. If they ask for a family member by full name I ask who is calling
5. If they give a partial name (e.g. Mr/Mrs) I ask them to be more specific who they want, and who they are
6. If I don't know who they are I ask what business they have with us, if the answer isn't acceptable I just say we have no dealings with them thank you and goodbye.