cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BIOS setup not there anymore

morgan2476
Grafter
Posts: 279
Registered: 13-08-2007

BIOS setup not there anymore

I have just installed a Linux distro bit I need to install a newer version of it.  However the PC keeps booting strait on to linux, ie, by pressing f2 or del it will not let me access the setup.  My MB is an Asrock.  Any ideas?
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,610
Thanks: 209
Fixes: 15
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: BIOS setup not there anymore

Strange, do you have it set to suspend or hibernate?
You could edit your /boot/grub/grub.cfg and change the timeout.
morgan2476
Grafter
Posts: 279
Registered: 13-08-2007

Re: BIOS setup not there anymore

How does one do that?  It is the PCLinus KDE distro that I have.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,610
Thanks: 209
Fixes: 15
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: BIOS setup not there anymore

open a terminal
get root
<text editor> /boot/grub/grub.cfg
e.g. for me
sudo pluma /boot/grub/grub.cfg
or install super-boot-manager and choose the grub setup.
I think if you press a key at startup then grub will display a menu, but been a long time since I used grub.
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,077
Thanks: 44
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: BIOS setup not there anymore

Quote from: morgan2476
My MB is an Asrock.

Don't have happy memories of asrock MBs, but it may have been a bad batch (of 60!).
Have you tried repeatedly tapping del/f2 (or is it ESC?) from power-on - I have had to do that on a number of occasions as the "window" time depended on the processor speed Shocked Sometimes it took 3 or 4 restarts to hit the window Roll eyes Alternatively, does the BIOS accept F12 to enter the boot device selection?
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,949
Thanks: 358
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: BIOS setup not there anymore

If you're choosing reboot, try shutting down and powering off instead.
morgan2476
Grafter
Posts: 279
Registered: 13-08-2007

Re: BIOS setup not there anymore

Problem Solved. I reset the bios.