cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BBC iPlayer tries to load AIR

VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,649
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

BBC iPlayer tries to load AIR

When I go to some programmes on iPlayer, select one so I can click on the picture to play it as flash,
It attempts (but luckily fails) to load AIR Malware.
It gives me the same error message 3 times.
This appears to be since I installed the Adobe fix for all the security holes in Acrobat.
All this happens in 64 bit W7
(Oh - just realised - Adobe don't do 64bits, do they?)
Luckily get_iplayer is working again. Smiley

6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,768
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 19
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: BBC iPlayer tries to load AIR

BBC iPlayer needs Adobe Air.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 288
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: BBC iPlayer tries to load AIR

I run BBC iPlayer on Lucid Lynx (32 bit) and that installed AIR during the original setup, and has since insisted in having an AIR update before iPlayer would continue.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,111
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: BBC iPlayer tries to load AIR

Quote from: ReedRichards
BBC iPlayer needs Adobe Air.

Only for downloading, not for using the Flash player on the iPlayer website (which is what A Fox is Evil was trying to do).
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,649
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: BBC iPlayer tries to load AIR

Indeed - I'd never load AIR - but the BBC website on Windows 7 seemed to be trying to.
If I want to download from the iPlayer I use the get_iplayer program.
Seems that Adobe have forgotten how to write decent software.

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,311
Thanks: 972
Fixes: 57
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: BBC iPlayer tries to load AIR

Did they ever know  Shocked Roll eyes
johpal
Grafter
Posts: 550
Registered: 20-04-2008

Re: BBC iPlayer tries to load AIR

Not for the first time, I updated 2 of my systems with an Adobe Reader automatic update this weekend; neither system would hibernate until I used the disk clean-up and PC tools registry cleaner utilities to clear up the mess left behind. If I didn't need the Adobe products, I'd ditch them.