Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Attaching 4TB Drive to Hub One via USB

Posts: 1
Registered: 10-12-2017

Attaching 4TB Drive to Hub One via USB

I have just gone fibre, and was assured when purchasing, that my 4TB Toshiba drive would be good to go as a network drive when attached via USB. I managed to attach a small drive with no problem. Both are formatted  NTFS, but Hub One does not see the Toshiba drive when attached. Fingers crossed someone can give me simple step by step instructions?


Thanks in advance


Aspiring Pro
Posts: 177
Thanks: 64
Fixes: 10
Registered: 24-11-2015

Re: Attaching 4TB Drive to Hub One via USB

At a guess I would say the hub one firmware is not compatible with Guid Partition Table format required for disks over 2TB.
The smaller drive will have a legacy Master Boot Record partition table which is why the hub one can read it.
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,702
Thanks: 217
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Attaching 4TB Drive to Hub One via USB

What kind of speed would you get out of the Hub 1 <--> USB connection?

Is it just a USB2 connection?

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 185
Fixes: 30
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Attaching 4TB Drive to Hub One via USB

Do a google on a Home Hub 5 USB Drive, its the same as the Hub One, its mot capable, I think its ok up to 64Gb - but do the search.

Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,793
Thanks: 565
Fixes: 38
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Attaching 4TB Drive to Hub One via USB

It can handle more than 64GB, I've used a 500GB drive on a Hub One.
I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Registered: 11-12-2017

Re: Attaching 4TB Drive to Hub One via USB

If there is no data on the drive in question a quick test for that would be to repartition the drive as MBR [with the partition only covering 2TB or less] and then seeing if the Hub One can see it. If so then that's the mystery solved.

If not then it's something else, and more diagnostics are needed.

My bigger concern is that the Hub One is deeply insecure and plugging a HDD with all your data into it to share on your network is asking for it to be a) stolen b) erased c) altered d) all of the above.
You are far better off using a dedicated NAS with proper security, which will also be a whole lot faster.

Convincing Illusion

If seeing is beleiving... Then what happens when what you're seing is an Illusion?