cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Apple watch update

Willow110
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-11-2020

Apple watch update

I have an Apple Watch, series 4, and there is an update.

To be able to install I need to connect to 2.4ghz but the router appears to be a dual setting one.

Can I specifically connect to the 2.4ghz specifically to run the update? If so how?

 

Grateful for any advice should anyone know how to do it 🙂

22 REPLIES 22
Alex
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,144
Thanks: 777
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Apple watch update

Hi @Willow110 

What router are you using? If a PlusNet hub one you can separate the bands so you'll have two wireless networks. One will be 2.4Ghz and the other will be 5Ghz. I don't have access to one to try with me - If I were round my sisters and if I made any changes to her router (even as a test) and her internet doesn't work, I would need to purchase some ear plugs.

No news is good news and all that, I'd have to go round there and it'll be like the outakes of the Jeremy Kyle show if I had screwed up her internet when she is trying to work from home. As the old saying once said "If it ain't broken, don't try to fix it".

Sorry back on topic a bit now, if a hub one - try this:

https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/Having-to-switch-between-2-4GHz-and-5GHz/td-p/1709284

I don't know anything about Apple watches as I don't own one. My friend does and has not complained about my internet. Worth taking a bit of time and see if the band splitting makes any difference.

Alex
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,144
Thanks: 777
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Apple watch update

Well I've just checked with some friends who are round.

I have Virgin Branson Media, and it looks like my friend is getting on with the 5Ghz band on his iWatch. Strange.

Try splitting the bands and see if connecting to either makes any difference. The Branson Media Netgear Hub One seems to split them by default.

Willow110
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-11-2020

Re: Apple watch update

Thanks for replying.

I got into the settings of my router and followed the link you sent.

I added the _5 as was mentioned in the post but then when i tried to connect it asked me for a password.

I didn't set one and don't know what it would be. Can you help?

Alex
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,144
Thanks: 777
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Apple watch update

I would imagine it'll be the one you have set up with your Apple ID.

So you'll need it to when you use anything Apple based.

Have you tried that one?

Not that I can talk, I had a bit of a meltdown with mine when trying to install the new iOS 14.2 on my iPhone, so I had to keep changing it. I think a release candidate came out today, so I had the fun and games of re-installing a new cert.

Wasn't it Bill Murray who acted in Ground Hog day? Story of my life I think.

Worth the effort though in the end, as it is so much faster.

Sorry back on topic, it sounds like your Apple ID password might be wrong.

Willow110
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-11-2020

Re: Apple watch update

I don't think it was an Apple issue, it was something to do with the router or my internet provider, Plusnet.

I'm going to leave it for tonight and give it another go tomorrow.

Thanks for your help so far, I'm pretty sure I'll be back tomorrow 🙂

Alex
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,144
Thanks: 777
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Apple watch update

Forgot to mention, if it is connecting then your Wi-Fi password is fine. Just try any site on the other network. If it loads then fine, if 'The Computer Says no' (as Little Britian once said) then it could be Wi-Fi.

I just browse to anything generic like a news site first. If that works and your watch doesn't, that would suggest your watch. I have to keep an Excel sheet of my passwords now.

EDIT: Unless you have specifically changed the passwords, it'll be on the sticker on your router.

Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,779
Thanks: 3,039
Fixes: 205
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Apple watch update

@Willow110 

When you split the Hub One channels you will see both when you look at your device available wireless networks. They both use the same password, which is identified on the hub label.

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,999
Thanks: 4,929
Fixes: 1,249
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Apple watch update

The Apple Watch can only connect to 2.4GHz, there was no need to split and it would have picked it up from your iPhone. 

You'd have been fine to leave it, unless you were specifically having issues.

 

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Willow110
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-11-2020

Re: Apple watch update

The issue seems to have only started since I got a new phone. 

I had an iPhone 6 but now have an 11. I'm thinking the issue might be with the phone.

I will continue to try and figure it out 🙂

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,999
Thanks: 4,929
Fixes: 1,249
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Apple watch update

Assume you paired your watch with the 11?
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Willow110
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-11-2020

Re: Apple watch update

I did. And I reset both watch and phone and started from scratch and it still won't work 😞

 

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,999
Thanks: 4,929
Fixes: 1,249
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Apple watch update

And iPhone is on iOS 14? Just making sure the bases are covered Smiley
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Willow110
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-11-2020

Re: Apple watch update

  • Yes, I'm on 14.1
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,999
Thanks: 4,929
Fixes: 1,249
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Apple watch update

do you get an error?
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'