Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Anyone familiar with sharing Google Drive

shermans
Pro
Fixes: 3

Anyone familiar with sharing Google Drive

Can anyone help with Google Drive because it has beaten me !

I have a bog  standard, no subscription, Gmail account.  No bells and whistles.  I use Google Drive to enable a few contacts (less than 10) to view and download files from Google Drive which are too big for general email servers.  The Drive has a series of folders into which I upload these files, like a library.  I then send the Gmail address and password to my contacts to allow them to open the drive to view the files as necessary.

However, recently someone decided to be clever and down-loaded a file, changed it and uploaded it back to the Drive without telling me.  He also decided to move a couple of files between folders.  Understandably, it messed things up as no-one knew what was where any more, or what the latest update was.  This chap was trying to be helpful, so I could not be cross about it.

However, I want to stop it happening again.  I decided to try to make the Drive "Read ONLY" for everyone but me.  But I have failed.  I tried using the "Share" feature, but it seems that I can only add people with Gmail accounts, not people with external email accounts.  I then tried to use the "Share the link" method but that achieved nothing.  It just allowed third parties to edit in the same way as sharing the password etc.  So I admit defeat; I am a miserable failure; I am a loser; I must be thick !

So can anyone explain in simple layman's terms how I can retain total editing control while still enabling third parties to view the files ?  I would like third parties to be able to download and print documents, but not upload anything or change anything already on the Drive.

Thanks.  All suggestions appreciated. Another vehicle - maybe Outlook.com - might be better than Google Drive, perhaps ?

5 REPLIES 5
shutter
Community Veteran
Fixes: 65