cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Another firefox problem ( Linux)

FIXED
gleneagles
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,105
Thanks: 2,552
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Another firefox problem ( Linux)

Upgraded to the latest version of firefox in linux mint.....but......all my book marks have gone, sure it works ok but it's like a complete new install, retaining nothing from the older version.

It did flag up a list of add ons that would not work with this version and suggested alternatives.

We are born into history and history is born into us.
5 REPLIES 5
Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Another firefox problem ( Linux)

I've upgraded at least eight Ubuntu PCs/laptops to the latest Firefox, and not seen that  Sad

 

Are you using Firefox synchronization, for maintaining bookmarks across multiple machines ?

Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.6.0 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
HairyMcbiker
All Star
Posts: 6,792
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Another firefox problem ( Linux)

Fix
Strange, not using FF now switched to Chromium now.
But look in ~/.mozilla/firefox/
in there there will be several folders, in one of them will be your old bookmarks.
I used to use an addon called FEBE for backing up the addons and bookmarks etc.
Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Another firefox problem ( Linux)

These official Mozilla Firefox support links might be useful -

 

Restore bookmarks from backup

Recover lost or missing Bookmarks

Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.6.0 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
VileReynard
Hero
Posts: 12,613
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Another firefox problem ( Linux)

If you haven't used Firefox on Windows/Linux for a long time (months) it offers to wipe out all your bookmarks etc and start with a "clean" version. Don't know why.

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

HairyMcbiker
All Star
Posts: 6,792
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Another firefox problem ( Linux)

I do remember this happening to me me now. I just used my backup to restore the bookmarks. So it is a common problem with FF.
One of the many reasons I switched to Chromium. (do miss some of the addons though, but with the latest release I would have lost most of them anyway)