cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amplifier for a desktop?

chuffchuff
Rising Star
Posts: 162
Thanks: 11
Registered: 25-01-2011

Amplifier for a desktop?

Any suggestions for an amplifier for a desktop?
I have two good (Technic) bookshelf speakers that I would like to play
the pc through.
Is that possible without hums & buzzes?
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,238
Thanks: 1,130
Fixes: 3
Registered: 06-11-2014

Re: Amplifier for a desktop?

Just use an amplifier that has a Line or Aux inputs, any stereo amplifier should work fine, any buzzes & hums though are usually down to bad wiring or a poor quality soundcard... Smiley
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,969
Thanks: 1,761
Fixes: 135
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Amplifier for a desktop?

I use one of these Logitech systems...sadly no longer available.
A similar item should give very good results. I'm very happy with mine.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Amplifier for a desktop?

I have this set http://www.microlab.com/?r=51systemen&st=full&id=361  and as its amp is separate you can plug any speakers in  Wink
But if you want you can just buy a separate amp from most HiFi shops with a AUX in and connect to your PC  Wink
i found this a helpful shop http://www.richersounds.com/products/hi-fi-separates/separates/amplifiers-receivers ;  
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,702
Thanks: 1,956
Fixes: 247
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Amplifier for a desktop?

I'm using my amp from a separate setup and it's working fine.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 17,785
Thanks: 1,612
Fixes: 19
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Amplifier for a desktop?

You may be able to do something with this....
http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/18w-universal-amplifier-module-n66aw
input voltage is rated at 8 to 20v.... ( max power output would be on 20volts)... not sure how much power output you would get if you ran it off a 5v rail from the computer... 
Or you could run it from a couple of 9v rechargables
I used something similar in my old Skoda.. ( radio did not work,.. so used an MP4 player for entertainment).... using a 9v battery ... all it needed was a volume control/with on/off    ... 9v battery, and a couple of speakers...
However... this one can run on 5v.. and looks pretty good on the write up below the pic...
http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/adafruit-stereo-20w-class-d-audio-amplifier-max9744-a54qn
They include a volume control with the board...
sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 486
Thanks: 4
Registered: 01-09-2014

Re: Amplifier for a desktop?