cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amplifier for a desktop?

chuffchuff
Rising Star
Posts: 162
Thanks: 11
Registered: 25-01-2011

Amplifier for a desktop?

Any suggestions for an amplifier for a desktop?
I have two good (Technic) bookshelf speakers that I would like to play
the pc through.
Is that possible without hums & buzzes?
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,238
Thanks: 1,130
Fixes: 3
Registered: 06-11-2014

Re: Amplifier for a desktop?

Just use an amplifier that has a Line or Aux inputs, any stereo amplifier should work fine, any buzzes & hums though are usually down to bad wiring or a poor quality soundcard... Smiley
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,422
Thanks: 1,451
Fixes: 81
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Amplifier for a desktop?

I use one of these Logitech systems...sadly no longer available.
A similar item should give very good results. I'm very happy with mine.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Amplifier for a desktop?

I have this set http://www.microlab.com/?r=51systemen&st=full&id=361  and as its amp is separate you can plug any speakers in  Wink
But if you want you can just buy a separate amp from most HiFi shops with a AUX in and connect to your PC  Wink
i found this a helpful shop http://www.richersounds.com/products/hi-fi-separates/separates/amplifiers-receivers ;  
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,321
Thanks: 1,665
Fixes: 184
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Amplifier for a desktop?

I'm using my amp from a separate setup and it's working fine.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 17,468
Thanks: 1,476
Fixes: 16
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Amplifier for a desktop?

You may be able to do something with this....
http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/18w-universal-amplifier-module-n66aw
input voltage is rated at 8 to 20v.... ( max power output would be on 20volts)... not sure how much power output you would get if you ran it off a 5v rail from the computer... 
Or you could run it from a couple of 9v rechargables
I used something similar in my old Skoda.. ( radio did not work,.. so used an MP4 player for entertainment).... using a 9v battery ... all it needed was a volume control/with on/off    ... 9v battery, and a couple of speakers...
However... this one can run on 5v.. and looks pretty good on the write up below the pic...
http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/adafruit-stereo-20w-class-d-audio-amplifier-max9744-a54qn
They include a volume control with the board...
sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 467
Registered: 01-09-2014

Re: Amplifier for a desktop?