cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Am I secure ?

oldgeezer
Grafter

Am I secure ?

I've just been  looking at a forum about Netgear routers and in one of the posts was a little pop-up box that contained the name of my ISP provider, the IP address I am presently connected on and the operating system I am using.
I'm a bit of a novice at this sort of thing but did I ought to be concerned or is this a wind-up and the sort of thing anyone can find.
My router firewall is enabled as is my Windows one  and my security suite doesn't flag a problem.
10 REPLIES 10
Steve
Seasoned Pro

Re: Am I secure ?

I've came across this what you describe, I'm surprised It did not know what web browser you were using also, Go here  https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2 and press proceed to  run the test ( Click on all service ports and wait for results) If It comes back as "Stealth " You have nothing to be concerned about.
If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.
Chris
Legend
Fixes: 169

I've seen those on forums around the Internet previously, IIRC you can get them from danasoft and they're completely harmless.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
Steve
Seasoned Pro

Fixed my Link...https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2
oldgeezer
Grafter

Thank-you for the replies both. I ran the application and it came back with all ports properly blocked.
It's put my mind at rest.
oldgeezer    Roll_eyes
Steve
Seasoned Pro

Now you have ran that really good test If you see anything In your router logs dated today and It looks like an attack( DOS), Fear not.. This test does that, Nowt to worry about. Wink
dvorak
Fixes: 1,483

it's basically some script that runs locally, doesn't report anything and is generally just there to worry you other nothing Smiley
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Strat
Community Veteran
Fixes: 565

http://www.danasoft.com/