Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Alternative to Comodo

Marksfish
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 4

Alternative to Comodo

I have been using Comodo for several years quite happily. Recently though, when it scans the system I am registering 100% disk usage and my laptop becomes virtually unusable until the scan completes (you know, like it goes when Windows decides to update without telling you!). I am looking for another user friendly firewall. anti virus that isn't such a resource hogger and preferably free. I have had a look at Avast, but am not sure and have used Zonealarm in the past.

Suggestions on a postcard please Smiley

12 REPLIES 12
shutter
Community Veteran
Fixes: 65

Re: Alternative to Comodo

@Marksfish wrote:

Would that be "FREEPOST"  ? ? 

If using windows.... Why not use Microsoft Security Essentials..... runs in the background and you don`t have to worry about it updating.. as it`s done automatically... and you won`t even know its there..

Can`t remember but you should be able to run regular security scans at a convenient time for yourrself.   ( like leave it running overnight on Sunday/Monday, and time the scan for 3.am.  or whatever )

idonno
Champion
Fixes: 6

@shutter idea is probably the easiest way to go but it is, like most 'freebies' - basic. I use it on the laptops, simply because of the very reason you mentioned, scans slowing the laptops down. It seems to run ok in the back ground (I'm assuming it is actually doing something!) without any noticeable slowdowns. You might need to do more reading of reviews re: system resources used before jumping in with another virus checker..

One thought, regarding the slow down, have you got enough disk space remaining?

Ever helpful. Grin Sure, I’d love to help you out. Now which way did you come in?
Marksfish
Seasoned Pro

@shutter wrote:

@Marksfish wrote:

Would that be "FREEPOST"  ? ? 

Grin Grin Grin