cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Airplane mode ? ?

Community Veteran
Posts: 17,485
Thanks: 1,482
Fixes: 17
Registered: 06-11-2007

Airplane mode ? ?

What is it? 
can somebody please enlighten me........ when I clicked on it.... (somewhere)  it shut off my WIFI connection to the router !...
11 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

basically it doesn't communicate with the outside world
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

It turns off wifi/mobile networks, as it suggests meant for use on an aeroplane.
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,485
Thanks: 1,482
Fixes: 17
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

Seems daft..... why not call it ........ erm...... let me think............








ah yes........


















turn off the wifi ( for use when on aeroplanes etc. )    Roll eyes Roll eyes
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-10-2012

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

Doesn't it also turn off all the telephony stuff (data & voice) as well?  Undecided
Geoff,
York.
DaveyH
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,426
Thanks: 246
Fixes: 9
Registered: 15-11-2012

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

Yes, it turns off all 'radios'
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,847
Thanks: 121
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

I favour "Don't-cause-the plane-to-crash mode".
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,346
Thanks: 686
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

Quote from: shutter
turn off the wifi ( for use when on aeroplanes etc. )    Roll eyes Roll eyes

Because that would be rather long wouldn't it.. and we all know most airlines don't like passengers using any radio transmission equipment (you especially should know) and so it's called airplane mode for that reason - because all radio transceivers in the device are turned off.
Be grateful you can still use the apps etc while its activated (as long as they don't need the internet)  Wink
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,485
Thanks: 1,482
Fixes: 17
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

Thefirst  time I flew, it was in a DC-4 by BEA on a flight to Malta .....
The last time I flew it was in a VC10 B.O.A.C to Mauritius ( and back 2 years later )... I didn`t have a laptop or mobile phone at the time... so wouldnt know about the wifi regs... !  Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-10-2012

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

Was that in an inside seat?  Cheesy
Geoff,
York.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,440
Thanks: 1,467
Fixes: 86
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IR9Zdgv2Kag

Customer and Forum Moderator.

To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,485
Thanks: 1,482
Fixes: 17
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

@NedLudd  yes... I couldn`t see out of the window ! ! ... but it was handy for the toilet ! ! !...
@Strat.... yeah... shudda gon Yokshu Airlines....  Cheesy