cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Airplane mode ? ?

shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 21,887
Thanks: 3,655
Fixes: 61
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Airplane mode ? ?

What is it? 
can somebody please enlighten me........ when I clicked on it.... (somewhere)  it shut off my WIFI connection to the router !...
11 REPLIES 11
Oldjim
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,034
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

basically it doesn't communicate with the outside world
HairyMcbiker
All Star
Posts: 6,792
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

It turns off wifi/mobile networks, as it suggests meant for use on an aeroplane.
shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 21,887
Thanks: 3,655
Fixes: 61
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

Seems daft..... why not call it ........ erm...... let me think............








ah yes........


















turn off the wifi ( for use when on aeroplanes etc. )    Roll_eyes Roll_eyes
NedLudd
Grafter
Posts: 1,898
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎20-10-2012

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

Doesn't it also turn off all the telephony stuff (data & voice) as well?  Undecided
Geoff,
York.
DaveyH
Champion
Posts: 1,946
Thanks: 465
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎15-11-2012

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

Yes, it turns off all 'radios'
ReedRichards
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 4,927
Thanks: 145
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

I favour "Don't-cause-the plane-to-crash mode".
7up
Community Veteran
Posts: 15,767
Thanks: 1,539
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

Quote from: shutter
turn off the wifi ( for use when on aeroplanes etc. )    Roll_eyes Roll_eyes

Because that would be rather long wouldn't it.. and we all know most airlines don't like passengers using any radio transmission equipment (you especially should know) and so it's called airplane mode for that reason - because all radio transceivers in the device are turned off.
Be grateful you can still use the apps etc while its activated (as long as they don't need the internet)  Wink
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 21,887
Thanks: 3,655
Fixes: 61
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

Thefirst  time I flew, it was in a DC-4 by BEA on a flight to Malta .....
The last time I flew it was in a VC10 B.O.A.C to Mauritius ( and back 2 years later )... I didn`t have a laptop or mobile phone at the time... so wouldnt know about the wifi regs... !  Cheesy
NedLudd
Grafter
Posts: 1,898
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎20-10-2012

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

Was that in an inside seat?  Cheesy
Geoff,
York.
Strat
Community Veteran
Posts: 31,319
Thanks: 1,638
Fixes: 565
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IR9Zdgv2Kag
Windows 10 Firefox 107.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 21,887
Thanks: 3,655
Fixes: 61
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Airplane mode ? ?

@NedLudd  yes... I couldn`t see out of the window ! ! ... but it was handy for the toilet ! ! !...
@Strat.... yeah... shudda gon Yokshu Airlines....  Cheesy