cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adobe

rena
Grafter
Posts: 123
Registered: 21-01-2011

Adobe

My son has been trying to watch a video on You Tube. It said he had to install the latest version on Adobe so he clicked on the download button. It appeared to be downloading normally but then when it gets near the end it says he already has that version installed. We tried again and the same thing happened. We seem to be going round in circles - he can't watch you tube until Adobe is up to date, but Adobe is up to date. Does anyone know what's wrong and how he can watch You Tube? thanks everyone
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Adobe

which browser is he using
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Adobe

I've seen various oddities with what I call "embedded" updates like that.
Try going to the relevant software web site and downloading a standalone installer (not to run in a browser) and run that.
rena
Grafter
Posts: 123
Registered: 21-01-2011

Re: Adobe


Oldjim, he is using IE.

Thank you very much for replying HP. But i'm not too sure what you mean as i'm a bit thick! Can you tell me what you mean by stand alone please? I thought I would have to use a brower like IE, Google etc to download it in the first place?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Adobe

If you go to Tools, Manage Addons what does it show for Adobe
rena
Grafter
Posts: 123
Registered: 21-01-2011

Re: Adobe

Hi Oldjim, it says -

Name          Shockwave Flash Object
Publisher    Adobe Systems Incorporated
Status        Enabled
File date    03 August 2012, 17:13
Version      11.3.300.270
Name          Adobe PDF Link Helper
Publisher    Adobe Systems, Incorporated
Status        Disabled
File date    26 March 2012, 16:38
Version      9.5.1.283
Load time    (0.12 s)
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Adobe

Nothing obviously wrong there.
Can you try this.
Go to Add/Remove Programs in Control Panel and remove Adobe Flash Player
Then go to here http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/ and install it again
Remember to untick McAfee Security Plus
St3
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,608
Thanks: 498
Fixes: 5
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Adobe

go here http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/otherversions download "for other browsers" this fixed mine and im also IE9
rena
Grafter
Posts: 123
Registered: 21-01-2011

Re: Adobe

Already tried that, Oldjim.  Ukste, I will give your idea a go when I get home, thanks.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,169
Thanks: 478
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Adobe

I wonder if the issue has anything to do with the fact that flash version 11.3.300.268 is the version you get if you download the installer, but Adobe have released 11.3.300.270 mainly via the auto-update mechanism. The only fix in 270 is a fix for the auto updater crashing. Adobe didn't put 270 at the main download location due to "logistical issues and time constraints", and Adobe's website generally lists 268 as the latest version.