cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adobe error message

Smileyman
Browser
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-06-2020

Adobe error message

I am getting an error message when opening PDF files with Adobe ... ""The application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000022). Click OK to close the application.""

This repeats once or twice then stops, until I open another PDF document.

Looking online it seems it may be linked to a firewall . antivirus setting. I use Plusnet Protect and can't see how to allow such exception. 

Any guidance or comments please would be appreciated. 

Many thanks

 

6 REPLIES 6
Strat
Community Veteran
Posts: 31,319
Thanks: 1,638
Fixes: 565
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Adobe error message

Moderators Note
This topic has been moved from ADSL Broadband to Tech Help.
Windows 10 Firefox 107.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
VileReynard
Hero
Posts: 12,613
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Adobe error message

There is no requirement to use Adobe to display/print PDF files.

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 12,174
Thanks: 3,878
Fixes: 150
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Adobe error message

To slightly expand on @VileReynard 's post: there are very many alternatives to Adobe for PDF creation/reading. Do you need to create and read them or just read?

With that information, we can suggest suitable alternatives.

John
daveplus
Pro
Posts: 628
Thanks: 132
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎25-08-2010

Re: Adobe error message

Hi@Smileyman 

This may help:

https://community.adobe.com/t5/acrobat-reader/application-unable-to-start-correctly-0xc0000022-0x000...

PS I always use Adobe Reader or Adobe Acrobat for PDFs. Yes, there are many alternatives but I prefer the real thing.

MMG
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-06-2020

Re: Adobe error message

Have you tried uninstalling Adobe Reader from add/remove programs, restarting your PC, then downloading it and installing it again?
jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 12,174
Thanks: 3,878
Fixes: 150
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Adobe error message

@jackleo Why not ask Adobe themselves?

John