cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Add-on possibility

Ransomefan
Grafter

Add-on possibility

As a relative newbie I have been reading many of the posts re unhappiness with download speeds.  Some of these problems seem to arise from the connections between the BT IP profile and the Plusnet profile.  I have read about the reasons for the Plusnet profile but wondered if would it be possible etc. etc to have an add-on (for a fee)  to eliminate the Plusnet profile.  Is there any support for such an add-on from Plusnet or other posters ?
11 REPLIES 11
orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)

Re: Add-on possibility

Hi Ransomefan,
I'm afraid that's very unlikely from our point of view, as the Plusnet profile is a major part of the traffic management system. If we don't impose a line profile on our side then we can't control which packets are dropped and which aren't, so we'd lose the priority of the time sensitive traffic (voip, email etc) over for example p2p.
The profile ensures that your traffic hits the exchange at your profile speed or lower, so there aren't any packets dropped at the exchange and we can ensure that the less important traffic is that which is dropped. If we let all the traffic through to the exchange, the kit there would drop whichever packets it needed to.
Hope that helps explain,
Anonymous
Not applicable

In addition, if the exchange randomly drops TCP packets instead of the Plusnet traffic management system doing it, then your overall broadband traffic load may actually increase as your PC will be making more requests for resends of the missing higher priority packets, so your effective link speed may actually get slower as it would be working harder to retrieve all the required packets.