cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ad-Aware V 8.1.0 2010

chrisco
Grafter
Posts: 314
Registered: 31-07-2007

Ad-Aware V 8.1.0 2010

For all who use the free addition of Ad-Aware, are you aware there is a problem with the upgrade from previous editions? The scan stalls a certain point & everything locks up. You can read all about it here http://www.lavasoftsupport.com/index.php?showforum=176
If you want to download an earlier version you can get it here: www.filehippo.com
5 REPLIES
jazz
Grafter
Posts: 240
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Ad-Aware V 8.1.0 2010

I use Ad Aware but haven't come across this problem.  The latest version that I am using is 8.1.1 though.
chrisco
Grafter
Posts: 314
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Ad-Aware V 8.1.0 2010

Hi there, I'm wondering if it could be an issue with XP as I have been unable to use the new version on my desktop but my daughter's laptop is running Vista & hers is working ok.
At present I've gone back to the Anniversary edition as it works fine for me, I just hope Lavasoft continue to support it until the creases are ironed out of the new version!
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,553
Thanks: 195
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: Ad-Aware V 8.1.0 2010

I'm using version 8.1.0 on XP with no problem.
barky
Grafter
Posts: 166
Registered: 21-01-2009

Re: Ad-Aware V 8.1.0 2010

if ad-aware causes a few problems just switch to something else -- that's what I did long ago -- it only ever found cookies anyway
I use superantispyware now on my XP -- never had a glitch or stall when running the program
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,023
Thanks: 1,217
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Ad-Aware V 8.1.0 2010

Same as barky here.... use superantispyware... no problems.... also use CCleaner .... they work well together.