cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ASUS DSL-AC86U AC1900 Settings Query (Fibre)

GG
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: 06-09-2015

ASUS DSL-AC86U AC1900 Settings Query (Fibre)

Yup, yet another Asus query!
This one surrounds the settings for Fibre (if and when the engineer can be bothered to turn up and not turn in a falsified "no access, no contact possible, no numbers on doors" report!).

Firstly, The Fibre Settings.  I have hunted all around the internet, but I can not for the life of me turn up any consistent settings for PN FB.
I have found a few things such as:

WAN Type:  DSL:  VDSL WAN (PTM)
WAN Connection: PPPoE
Enable WAN: Yes
Enable NAT: Yes
Enable UPnP: Yes
Enable 802.1Q: Yes
VLAN ID: 101
802.1P: 0
Get the WAN IP automatically : Yes
Connect to DNS Server automatically: Yes
Account Settings
PPP Authentication: PAP or CHAP ?
MTU: ?Huh
Service Name
Access Concentrator Name
Additional pppd options
Under DSL Profile, I have discovered the following:
DSL modulation:  No info
ANNEX Mode: :  No info
Dynamic Line Adjustment (DLM): Disabled
Stability Adjustment (VDSL): Disabled
Tx Power Control (VDSL) : Disabled
Rx AGC GAIN Adjustment (VDSL) : Stable
UPBO - Upstream Power Back Off (VDSL): Disabled
ESNP - Enhanced Sudden Noise Protection (VDSL) Stable
SRA (Seamless Rate Adaptation): Disabled
Bitswap (VDSL): Enabled
VDSL Profile: 17A Multimode
G.INP (G.998.4): Enabled
G.vector (G.993.5): Enabled
Non-standard G.vector (G.993.5): Disabled

Can anyone / is anyone able to provide clarification on any of the above as I would like to have the necessary settings to hand when the fibre is (hopefully) activated on Friday next..
If it makes a difference, Location wise I am in North London inside the boundary of the A406.
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 480
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: ASUS DSL-AC86U AC1900 Settings Query (Fiibre)

Upstream Power Back Off should be enabled.
Technically, Seamless Rate Adaptation should also be enabled, even though I don't think it is currently being used.
GG
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: 06-09-2015

Re: ASUS DSL-AC86U AC1900 Settings Query (Fiibre)

Thanks ejs.  Anything else I should / need to know?
GG
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: 06-09-2015

Re: ASUS DSL-AC86U AC1900 Settings Query (Fiibre)

Re-reading that lot, I notice  I have found no info for DSL modulation or Annex type, though I seem to remember Annex type being "Annex M".
Also need to know if PPP Authentication is PAP or CHAP.
Seems I have picked up on most of the settings, just a couple.left to confirm.....
GG
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: 06-09-2015

Re: ASUS DSL-AC86U AC1900 Settings Query (Fibre)

Well, the switch-over occurrd and thanks to the Asus, I now have a one-box solution running fibre. Just have to get through the 10 day line training and then see what tweaks, if any, are required.
Perhaps it is as well that I chose the Asus, especially considering the openreach box and 2704n combo will not connect......
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: ASUS DSL-AC86U AC1900 Settings Query (Fibre)

There is No 10 day line training for Fibre  Cool
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
GG
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: 06-09-2015

Re: ASUS DSL-AC86U AC1900 Settings Query (Fibre)

I get that, but having switched and having spoken to support, I was told I still have to go through a 10 day line training.
I want to let the line settle down before I start making tweaks to settings in any case. Sync is good, but actual speed is like I am on adsl2+ given it wont budge above 19mb/s (upload is good at 12-15mb/s though...).  I managed peaks of 18+ mb/s on several occasions before going fibre, so it's a bit of a mystery at the moment.
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: ASUS DSL-AC86U AC1900 Settings Query (Fibre)

Quote from: rongtw
There is No 10 day line training for Fibre

Quote from: GG
I get that, but having switched and having spoken to support, I was told I still have to go through a 10 day line training.

A further example of the 10 day training period that first line support staff seem to get failing then!  As above, there is no 10 day FTTC training period and PN Support have misinformed you...
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 480
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: ASUS DSL-AC86U AC1900 Settings Query (Fibre)

If your download speeds and speedtest results are still the same as there were on ADSL2+, that's probably because your Plusnet current line speed hasn't updated yet, which Plusnet support should have fixed for you.
GG
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: 06-09-2015

Re: ASUS DSL-AC86U AC1900 Settings Query (Fibre)

Well, line speed has improved in both directions, although at this early stage I will keep an eye on it and see what occurs in the next few days.
Overall speeds are still "fluid" in that they have not stabilised, so the next few days should, I theory at least, give a mean average overall.