cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ALIX 2D13 firewall + DrayTek Vigor 120 Adsl 2 modem

Grinny
Grafter

ALIX 2D13 firewall + DrayTek Vigor 120 Adsl 2 modem

I've been thinking about getting a router with a bit more power and flexibility as I have a WRT54GSv1 @200mhz and 32mbs RAM, I've got some experience with a number of different OS's and when I found the ALIX 2D13 I thought this looks like what I need because it's power consumption is around 5 watts, load it with pfSense + a DrayTek Vigor 120 transparent modem try using the WRT54GS on the 3rd LAN before going to the expenditure of buying an mini-pci wireless card for the ALIX. Of course this would be quite expensive at around £150-£200 altogether but I'm fed up with buying equipment that underpreforms or die's in 6 months.
Any idea's or have you used an ALIX or Vigor 120. Thanks Smiley
oh here's some of the system boards stats
http://pcengines.ch/alix2d13.htm
16 REPLIES 16
Grinny
Grafter

Re: ALIX 2D13 firewall + DrayTek Vigor 120 Adsl 2 modem

Maybe I might sign up for the FTTC since I seem to live near one of the newly upgraded Cornish exchanges and if the suppled router is trouble then I'll buy a ALIX.
Anyone know what the router will be? Thomson TG585vn isn't it?
Peter_Vaughan
Grafter

Netgear WRN1000v2
Grinny
Grafter

Thanks Peter Smiley
Well I don't know what to think of that router as there aren't many reviews for that one but there seems to be problems for some with many claims of poorly written firmware although the hardware sounds ok 400Mhz, 32mb ram but flash of 4mb I guess we will just have to see Smiley
David_W
Rising Star

Grab a Cisco, I use the 877W without any issues, plus you can switch off the internal ADSL modem and use the Ethernet ports to plug in a FTTC modem to supply your household with IPV6 if required.  May be able to get one for around £100+ ish but if you can find one with 34Mb Flash and 256Mb RAM, even better.
Grinny
Grafter