cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADwin configuration protocol

VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,828
Thanks: 250
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

ADwin configuration protocol

Does anyone know what this is?
I've got a Windows 8.1 machine emitting one of these every 2 seconds as a broadcast to 255.255.255.255
How do I prevent Windows broadcasting ADwin messages?
I know nothing about Windows 8. Cool

14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: ADwin configuration protocol

Very simple - remove Windows and install Mint or similar
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,828
Thanks: 250
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: ADwin configuration protocol

It's not mine so I can't remove the malware.  Cry

nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,700
Thanks: 117
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: ADwin configuration protocol

is it not the windows networking info pinger ?
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,828
Thanks: 250
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: ADwin configuration protocol

I did a google search for "windows networking info pinger" - which sounds like baby-talk...
There seem to be a variety of things which this thing can do - but they all duplicate existing functionality.
(and sometimes interferes with the ARP protocol).
I will look into it tomorrow whilst it's normal user is out.

nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,700
Thanks: 117
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: ADwin configuration protocol

well I know adwin configuration was required back in the pre y2k era on older generation nic's  so I cant see why it should be enabled on a new pc unless for some reason its setup to run as part of an adhoc network  rather than being part of a normal dhcp controlled domain ....
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,828
Thanks: 250
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: ADwin configuration protocol

So I have to hack into Windows complicated internet setup.  Sad
I hate the fact it doesn't "just work".
Last time I looked it had ip addresses, DHCP, WINS etc etc

mossgrove
Grafter
Posts: 68
Registered: 18-08-2007

Re: ADwin configuration protocol

ADwin appears to be some kind of real-time engineering software  see http://www.adwin.de/us/konzept/konzept.html and as such it seems reasonable that it would try to contact its host at short intervals.
Does the owner of the PC know why it is installed?
nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,700
Thanks: 117
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: ADwin configuration protocol

ADwin seems like it can be any one of several versions a couple are innocuous though perhaps annoying and the rest are malware, try asking the user if there are any problems on their pc before you start messing with config files
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,828
Thanks: 250
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: ADwin configuration protocol

I tried switching the Win 8.1 PC on - I didn't change anything - because it was so confusing!
For example I tried going to Config the Wifi - but it claimed to have downloaded about 1.5 GBytes on wifi in the 5 mins I'd had it switched on for.
I eventually managed to look at the network setup and it looked very similar to how I remember it when I used Windows 3.1 (or NT4).
It even had NetBIOS Grin enabled!!!
The PC appears to start and shutdown remarkedly fast, considering it's Windows - so I don't think there are any wholesale virus issues.
But as I say, it all appears to be done just to confuse.

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,094
Thanks: 454
Fixes: 17
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: ADwin configuration protocol

How did you identify it as "ADwin configuration protocol"? As in, is that how wireshark described it, or did you use something else?
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,828
Thanks: 250
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: ADwin configuration protocol

Purely by what Wireshark says, together with its known ip address and packet contents as shown by Wireshark.
Have to admit it doesn't appear to continuous (i.e. its not doing it right now).

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,094
Thanks: 454
Fixes: 17
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: ADwin configuration protocol

I was wondering if wireshark has identified it wrong - if you expand the details for the packet, you might be able to see if they look "sensible" for the adwin_config, but it's unlikely anyone would know what sensible details are since it sounds like an old and obscure protocol.
nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,700
Thanks: 117
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: ADwin configuration protocol

Iirc it's job was similar to neighbour discovery in ipv6, but back in the day of token ring based ad hoc networks
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,828
Thanks: 250
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: ADwin configuration protocol

It doesn't seem to work very well & it's not needed unless you had a local IPV6 setup.
ARP works perfectly well on a "small" network, especially if you have a single gateway.