cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2704N dhcp reserved addresses

richardg8jvm
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 06-11-2015

2704N dhcp reserved addresses

Hi
I'm going rapidly nuts since joining plusnet
I can with the expert menu set MAC address :IP Adress
yet it takes absolutly no notice
I've rebooted umpteen times now, and rebooted the devices
And its routing is abismal 
device with a static ip , it will route to it , but it wont route return signals from WAN to it.
IP cam  I can connect to it while it has a static address,  but the IP cams mail client can send frames to the smtp server, but the replies from the server dont get routed to it.
put the IP cam  a dynamic address, and the stupid 2704N routes the replies from the smtp server OK
Then as it does not reserve the wanted address, you have to log in to the router to see whats attached to get the ip address of the device..
Is this normal behaviour of this device.
I CAN SEE  I'LL HAVE TO GET A DECENT ROUTER, ANY RECOMMEDATIONS Huh
TIA
Richard

6 REPLIES
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,645
Thanks: 204
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: 2704N dhcp reserved addresses

All the routers I've had, allow you to reserve a chosen TCP/IP address with a MAC address.
No need for "expert" menus either.
Choose your router, then download the user manual before buying.
I generally get a Netgear router.

richardg8jvm
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 06-11-2015

Re: 2704N dhcp reserved addresses

Hi
I went and got a Tp Link TD-W8968 , no problems with it , I did look at the user manual before as well.
Just a pity that PN supply something which is non RFC compliant.
Community Veteran
Posts: 470
Thanks: 34
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-09-2015

Re: 2704N dhcp reserved addresses

You can choose more options with the 2704N via the hidden "Expert" menus ... http://192.168.1.254/expert_user.html ; From memory that lets you set DHCP reservations, I'm pretty sure I had them set when I used a 2704N for a couple of weeks.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: 2704N dhcp reserved addresses

Quote from: vilefox
No need for "expert" menus either.

Please don't make misleading posts Jeremy, it's as aesmith has pointed out.
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,645
Thanks: 204
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: 2704N dhcp reserved addresses

My point was that normal routers don't require "hidden menus" to do simple tasks.

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: 2704N dhcp reserved addresses

It's not really "hidden", it's the expert user GUI, although you don't need to be much of an expert, it's so crippled Tongue