cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

YouView app removal / Remote Record

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,343
Thanks: 1,933
Fixes: 142
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: YouView app removal / Remote Record

I'll do some digging.

Just a thought, but for those missing channels, what version of the app are you using? Android or iOS. @Anoush, looks like you're using iOS?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎17-01-2016

Re: YouView app removal / Remote Record

I am missing channels and am using the iOS app on an iPad

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 54
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎07-08-2015

Re: YouView app removal / Remote Record

I'm missing channels and am on Android.
Highlighted
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,185
Thanks: 383
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎22-08-2015

Re: YouView app removal / Remote Record


@bobpullen wrote:

@Anoush, looks like you're using iOS?


Yep I am. 13.3.1 the latest version at least widespread and publicly available. 

This is my personal Community Forum account to help out around these parts while I'm at home. If I'm posting from the 1st March 2020, this means I'm off-duty with no access to internal systems.
If this post resolved your issue, please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 57
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: YouView app removal / Remote Record

Same here: Android 8.1 & missing 373/374 NatGeo; 435/436 Eurosport 1&2 etc so presumably all the extra PlusNetTV channels are not present ☹️
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎19-02-2020

Re: YouView app removal / Remote Record

Can't pair either mine or hubby's phones (both android). Both were paired with YouView app. Just says 'No BT TV box found'.

Any ideas guys?

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 47
Thanks: 16
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-02-2020

Re: YouView app removal / Remote Record

Are your phones and the youview box on the same local network/router?
i.e. the phones on your router wifi and the youview box connected to the router via an ethernet cable/powerline apapters/etc?
They have to be on the same local network or router.
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 47
Thanks: 16
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-02-2020

Re: YouView app removal / Remote Record

Just read some comments about the BT app .... the youview box needs to be a 2000 series one. The older 1000 type dont work with the BT app.
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎19-02-2020

Re: YouView app removal / Remote Record

Hi Bogbody

Yes, on same network, and is a 2000 series box

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 57
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: YouView app removal / Remote Record

Hi - just to check whether your phone can communicate with your box...

  1. Go into settings>Broadband connection and make a note of the IP Address (mine is 192.168.1.74)
  2. On your phone, download pingMeter from the playStore https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=local.pivot.pingmeter&hl=en_GB
  3. Type the box IP Address and Ping this - you should see the response as per the attached image

If you can Ping the device, both are happily communicating across the Network so there must be some other (unknown) reason why the app won't connect  

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 47
Thanks: 16
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-02-2020

Re: YouView app removal / Remote Record

Which router do you have?
Try the suggestion above - it will prove that "things" on the wifi can "see" the ethernet/cable side to which the youview box is connected.
If its not then knowing what router you have could be very helpful. One of the smart brains out there may know what setting to change.
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎19-02-2020

Re: YouView app removal / Remote Record

geoffers

Tried your suggestion, got the Ping responses from the box. Still unable to connect.

 

bogbody,

router is a Lynksys. Which was previously working fine with the YouView app.

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎02-03-2020

Re: YouView app removal / Remote Record

I suggest re-booting the youview device. Switch it off, uplug it, wait a few minutes and plug it back it.
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎19-02-2020

Re: YouView app removal / Remote Record

Well, hubbys phone now connected but not mine. He had uninstalled his YouView app on Friday (without telling me!) so maybe there was a conflict? Although he couldn't pair the BT TV app straight away. I just tried his again and it paired.

So I have uninstalled the YouView app from my phone and I will try pairing again tomorrow. I'll update with what happens

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,343
Thanks: 1,933
Fixes: 142
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: YouView app removal / Remote Record


@geoffers wrote:
Same here: Android 8.1 & missing 373/374 NatGeo; 435/436 Eurosport 1&2 etc so presumably all the extra PlusNetTV channels are not present ☹️

You're paying for HD, right? Those channels numbers are all HD content. The equivilent SD versions are on 317/318 and 412/413 respectively.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵