cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TP-Link W9970 & IPC6023

dparnell
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎30-07-2015

TP-Link W9970 & IPC6023

Decided to consolidate the two boxes (BT and Techincolor) into one TP-Link W9970 modem/router a few weeks back.  Very simple swap over and everything worked like a dream (internet, iPlayer, youView), until today.  Now I'm getting the dreaded IPC6023 message on the internet channels.  I've reset the youview box, re-pair'd the homeplugs, and rebooted the router.  Internet access is fine, as is iPlayer through the youView box.
Does anyone have any ideas?
Thanks
Dave
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,579
Thanks: 271
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: TP-Link W9970 & IPC6023

Have you ticked the IPTV box - page 49 in the manual I believe.
dparnell
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎30-07-2015

Re: TP-Link W9970 & IPC6023

Hi Mustrum,
I haven't so far - it worked last week without it.  Do you know the correct settings?
Thanks, Dave
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,579
Thanks: 271
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: TP-Link W9970 & IPC6023

Sorry, I don't, just had a quick google at the settings earlier. I have had another look, but not found anything useful. Is there a TP link forum, that might help?
dgilbert2
Rising Star
Posts: 81
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎17-11-2017

Re: TP-Link W9970 & IPC6023

 

It should work with the default settings as they are, no need to change or enable anything under IPTV as that's a different functionality.

 

If anyone has issues just check that "IGMP Proxy" is enabled under Network, WAN settings, PPPoE settings, Advanced (tab at bottom of page).

Also check that "IGMP Snooping" is enabled under Network, LAN settings, DHCP Pool in use (usually the "Default").

 

Worked for me Smiley

dgilbert2
Rising Star
Posts: 81
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎17-11-2017

Re: TP-Link W9970 & IPC6023

Umm, spoke to soon.

 

After 3-4 days I also got the ipc6023 error, cleared by a router restart. Now a few days later, even a restart does not work Embarrassed

 

Looks like it needs a factory reset because as soon as I swapped back to a BT Home Hub 5B, it all came back to life  again and ipc6023 cleared Smiley

 

I have contacted TP-Link and see what they say.

dgilbert2
Rising Star
Posts: 81
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎17-11-2017

Re: TP-Link W9970 & IPC6023

Just to close the loop, TP-Link are not aware of a fix for this issue of loosing multicast after 2-3 days and so I have abandoned the W9970 altogether now and got a refund.