cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Service says I'm not subscribed to channels

Highlighted
albo42
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 10-08-2013

Service says I'm not subscribed to channels

Hi

Only had YouView a short while and when I try to access some of the Entertainment channels included, most of the time it says I'm not subscribed to the channel. If I click "Back" I see the "plusnet support" page for details of who to call. If I click OK most of the time they then play. Sometimes not.

Causes a problem when I try to record something obviously. 

What could be causing this?  My YouView is connected to a Solwise powerline adapter rated at 200 Mbps. 

Thanks

 

Alan

6 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 512
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 18
Registered: 02-03-2015

Re: Service says I'm not subscribed to channels

Hi @albo42,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us through our community forums regarding your issue.

Have you been through any of the maintenance options for your set top box?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Ben Babinski
 Plusnet Help Team
albo42
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 10-08-2013

Re: Service says I'm not subscribed to channels

Hi

I have connected a Network cable directly to the YouView box and tested access to the internet programs and this still gave errors on some of the channels with error codes IPC6011. Some of the channels it was fine. 

I rebooted the Openreach box and the Plusnet router and this appeared to have helped but soon the channels were giving errors again. I did have the cable plugged into port 4 of our router however noticed some instructions that said "do not use port 4" Why ? However, both the wired connection and the 200 Mbps Powerline connectors gave similar results. Internet channels not reliable.

Sometimes when I click "back" on the first error and presented with the Plusnet page, clicking OK will allow access to the channel. This is only temporary however. 

Hope this helps with some further information.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 512
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 18
Registered: 02-03-2015

Re: Service says I'm not subscribed to channels

Thank you for getting back to me @albo42,

Have you tried to reset the set top box?

If not here are the instructions on how to do this:-

  • Power the set top box off by unplugging the power cable
  • Reconnect the power cable, putting the set top box into standby mode
  • Hold the down button on the remote control until the enter maintenance mode screen appears. Once this appears, release the down button
  • Press the set top box’s power button to continue

Once you have done this just use the navigation button on your remote to select which option you want to use. I would recommend trying the Software Reset option first and then let us know how you get on.

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Ben Babinski
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,598
Thanks: 13
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Service says I'm not subscribed to channels

I used to get this type of error when I first connected to YouView, using power-line adaptors. Switched over to Ethernet cable so the YouView box was hard-wired in to my network, and no further issues.

 

Is your set up capable of connecting directly via Ethernet cable?

albo42
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 10-08-2013

Re: Service says I'm not subscribed to channels

Hi,

 

thanks for message. I could route a cable in the loft and down to the TV. Not too convenient. I did test all internet channels today and they all played with no errors. Not sure why. Done nothing else since !

albo42
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 10-08-2013

Re: Service says I'm not subscribed to channels

Hi  Ben

thanks for your reply. Not had to try this as yet . Checked channels today and they all played with no errors. That's never happened before. So, keep fingers crossed all OK at present. If it happens again I'll try your suggestion by resetting the box

Thanks