cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router for Plus net TV

tolmie35
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 1
Registered: 04-02-2014

Router for Plus net TV

Hi folks, recently joined plusnet tv after leaving sky, im looking to replace my plusnet router, I know there have been some issues with routers and plusnet tv, does anyone know if the following one is ok.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00NEQZ12Y/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pd_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=10KF3W8IF9YM9&co...
16 REPLIES
thegame2k0
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 26-05-2015

Re: Router for Plus net TV

That will work fine i used it when i was with plusnet.
tolmie35
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 1
Registered: 04-02-2014

Re: Router for Plus net TV

Did it work with plusnet TV.
Cheers
thegame2k0
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 26-05-2015

Re: Router for Plus net TV

Worked perfectly also works fine with BT tv too, it has multicast already enabled so saved me a lot of faffing around when i was with PN.
Very easy to set up too.
Traygar
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 02-11-2015

Re: Router for Plus net TV

IPTV compliant - Asus RT-AC87U Router (£160 ish)
For those that want IPTV with Plusnet or BT but want a basic NAS for Kodi in addition and a router that will support gaming and all manner of streaming this router is all singing all dancing beast. I had a Netgear R7000 which worked too with third party  firmware but soon became bricked! This unit has been going strong for a few weeks and IPTV has played back well. Unit has 4 gig ports not the 100mb ones you get the plusnet net free router. I highly recommend though I know its expensive. Good for houses that need strong wifi signals too.
Go to admin settings and change the following settings:
Under Lan go to the IPTV tab and simply enable multicast routing and Enable efficient multicast forwarding
Disable under WAN setting Enable VPN + DHCP Connection select no instead of yes
http://www.amazon.co.uk/ASUS-RT-AC87U-Dual-Band-Gigabit-Wireless/dp/B00NQY3WO8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qi...
Community Veteran
Posts: 46
Thanks: 2
Registered: 07-08-2015

Re: Router for Plus net TV

The 9980 works a treat. You won't regret it.
Den1
Rising Star
Posts: 103
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Router for Plus net TV

Yep i use the 9980 as well works a treat with Plusnet Tv  Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,545
Thanks: 188
Fixes: 13
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Router for Plus net TV

Been using one on the TV service since it started.
Fuzzybee
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 16-06-2015

Re: Router for Plus net TV

Took the plunge and bought one of these, will be setting it up over the weekend, when people say to very easy to set up how easy do you mean. Any tips, I'll be setting it up via a wired connection for my plusnet tv, through home plugs for a PS3 then wireless for an Xbox One, various tablets and a couple of phones.
smokane
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 03-11-2015

Re: Router for Plus net TV

I have a router that has excellent qos settings and b/w control, but does not support IGMP
for anyone that has the tp link 9980 working with tv, it is possible to connect to the y'view box to a downstream router, or can it only connect directly to the tp link?
thanks
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,074
Thanks: 44
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Router for Plus net TV

Provided that router supports IGMP as well, there should be no problem.
Phil
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
smokane
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 03-11-2015

Re: Router for Plus net TV

Thanks for your help.
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,074
Thanks: 44
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Router for Plus net TV

As an experiment, I connected the following "chain":
1. TP-Link TD-W9980
4. TP-Link WR1043ND (as a switch, no DHCP; note: WAN-LAN in bridge mode not tested)
5. Tenda G1008 (8w Gigabit switch)
6. D-Link DGS-1008D (8w Gigabit switch)
2 .TP-Link W3600 (SamKnows whitebox; WAN-LAN in bridge mode)
3. PN YouView+ G4 box
Items 4, 5 and 6 were added for the experiment. The Tenda blocks the IPTV and also blocks WoL messages, so has been replaced by the D-Link in my normal network. Removing the Tenda allowed full usage of the G4.
As mentioned here, the W9980 will also work with a suitable wireless node to connect the G4.
Phil
Edit: I did think of inserting the 2704n, but as it is configured in "toy mode", the dhcp messed things up Roll eyes
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
smokane
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 03-11-2015

Re: Router for Plus net TV

That's an impressive collection of networking equipment!
Do you use this setup, or was it just for experimentation?
wisty
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 431
Thanks: 53
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Router for Plus net TV

I use the following chain
1) Billion 8800NL Router
2) SamKnows Whitebox
3) TP-Link TL-SG108E ( 8W Gigabit smart switch)
4) TPlink Powerline Adapters
5) YouView box
The rest of the network (PC's, NAS box, printer, VOIP ATA etc) hang off the other ports of the switch.
When I got PlusTV, I had an unmanaged Netgear switch at 3)  that did not do IGMP snooping. The Billion does, but because the whole network hangs off a single port (so that it passes through the whitebox) it was passing all the multicast packets to the switch which broadcast them to the whole network.
Swapping to a cheap managed switch fixed that.