cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet TV using FREESAT instead of FREEVIEW

DaveCW
Grafter
Posts: 37
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2019

Plusnet TV using FREESAT instead of FREEVIEW

Chaps,

 

I moved to Plusnet TV from Sky, apart from the issues i had 2 or 3 weeks back I have been quite happy with what I am getting. but here's the rub. I live in a part of the UK where the old Analogue Terrestrial signal was poor, hence why I took up Sky very early on. Digital Terrestrial TV is way better but often prone to issues during some weather conditions which the Satellite signals don't appear to be affected by apart from Heavy snow when it builds up on the dish arm. Since leaving Sky i still have the Dish and cabling in place.

 

Do YouView at any time plan to introduce a Youview Box that uses FreeSat rather Than Freeview. If you are trying to attract customers away from Sky perhaps this would be a good thing to offer, remember many have sky because the Signal to the Arial is poor.

10 REPLIES 10
caravanj
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 267
Thanks: 50
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎31-07-2014

Re: Plusnet TV using FREESAT instead of FREEVIEW

YouView don't have any plans to produce a Freesat box.

We have a Zgemma satellite receiver that receives & records Freesat & a YouView box that we use mainly for the Plusnet IPTV subscription programmes.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 594
Thanks: 83
Fixes: 29
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Plusnet TV using FREESAT instead of FREEVIEW

Hi @DaveCW

 

Thanks for getting in touch and I am sorry to hear that you struggle with your TV reception.

Unfortunately as @caravanj has mentioned this is not something that we are aware of changing any time soon.

 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Warwick
 Plusnet Help Team
DaveCW
Grafter
Posts: 37
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2019

Re: Plusnet TV using FREESAT instead of FREEVIEW

I appreciate there are no plans for a Sat version of the Youview box, but perhaps there should be. There are many people still out there in the UK who live in TV reception Blackspots and the ONLY choice is SKY. It may be something BT/Plusnet/Talk Talk might want to consider, there are thousands+ of customers out there who's ONLY choice is sky and this is a potential customer base worth tapping in to.

Even though i get a perfectly adequate TV signal for my Youview box, i too have a Freesat recorder as well, It gives me even more TV recording options.

 

robbieglover2k
Rising Star
Posts: 101
Thanks: 11
Registered: ‎11-05-2018

Re: Plusnet TV using FREESAT instead of FREEVIEW

I don't know if this is possible but are the Freeview channels not able to be sent to the box through the internet the same way the subscription channels do?

 

Reason I say this is because the subscription channels are perfect, even in HD with live events they're absolutely spot on where as I also have an issue with a fairly weak Freeview reception (our own fault really because my room is connected to the aerial in the loft as opposed to the one outside but it's costly to get someone to fix this) however if the Freeview channels were able to get to the box the same way the subscription channels do, then this would be perfect and we'd not have a problem with any missing channels.

Just a thought Smiley

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 594
Thanks: 83
Fixes: 29
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Plusnet TV using FREESAT instead of FREEVIEW

Hi @robbieglover2k and @DaveCW

 

Thanks for getting back in touch and I will be glad to pass on your feedback regarding the Youview product delivery.

 

Please feel free to get in touch with any other questions.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Warwick
 Plusnet Help Team
robbieglover2k
Rising Star
Posts: 101
Thanks: 11
Registered: ‎11-05-2018

Re: Plusnet TV using FREESAT instead of FREEVIEW

Thank you @Warwick, they also need to add the BT Sport Box Office channel to the channel list too (there's a separate thread on this here I did as I was asked to do this which explains it all and why it's important), however thanks for kindly adding the suggestion about the channel delivery as this could really help Smiley

The BT Sport Box Office thread is here by the way as we need to keep the discussion in the same thread they mentioned: https://community.plus.net/t5/TV/BT-Sport-Box-Office-access-via-Plusnet-TV-I-was-asked-to-make-a/td-...

Thanks again anyway, you guys do a fantastic job at Plusnet and I am sincerely grateful for all that you do!! Smiley

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Plusnet TV using FREESAT instead of FREEVIEW


@DaveCW wrote:

There are many people still out there in the UK who live in TV reception Blackspots and the ONLY choice is SKY. 


That's not the case - you've asked about Freesat and if you can get Sky you can get Freesat using your existing dish. All you need to buy is a receiver and there's no ongoing costs.

Humax have some decent deals on factory refurbished boxes: e.g. https://www.humaxdirect.co.uk/refurbished/freesat-recorder-hdr-1100s-1tb-black-refurbished.html. We have one of those and have had no issues. The app to control it from your smartphone is pretty good too.

Full Freesat channel list

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
robbieglover2k
Rising Star
Posts: 101
Thanks: 11
Registered: ‎11-05-2018

Re: Plusnet TV using FREESAT instead of FREEVIEW


@Warwick wrote:

Hi @robbieglover2k and @DaveCW

 

Thanks for getting back in touch and I will be glad to pass on your feedback regarding the Youview product delivery.

 

Please feel free to get in touch with any other questions.


Did you manage to get any update in regards to this @Warwick? No rush of course, just be cool to get some sort of update at some point that's all Smiley

It really would be much better if they could deliver the channels this way, it would save yourselves and us in regards to any problems with aerials etc.. on the freeview channels, specially as TV is evolving now there's going to be a time where aerials are completely a thing of the past (like analogue was when digital came in).

The sooner this is done the better cause aerials seem to be problematic with weather and many other aspects for people and the fix isn't easy or cheap either for us where as if it was delivered this way, it wouldn't matter at all and save us all a lot of problems. 

We definitely need the BT Sport Box office channel added to the list too for sure, without a doubt when you guys kindly can.

Thanks Smiley 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 638
Thanks: 112
Fixes: 34
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Plusnet TV using FREESAT instead of FREEVIEW

Hello @robbieglover2k

 

In response to your query, my colleague forwarded your feedback to the appropriate team.

 

When feedback such as these nature is raised by our customers, the feedback is passed forward as suggestions/ideas.

 

We have not heard any information from the relevant team in regards to this matter.

 

Should you require any further assistance, please do get back in touch with us.

 

Kind regards.

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Wakas Hussain
 Plusnet Help Team
robbieglover2k
Rising Star
Posts: 101
Thanks: 11
Registered: ‎11-05-2018

Re: Plusnet TV using FREESAT instead of FREEVIEW

Thank you @Dumbledore that's great, however I do hear often this happens and never really see any results so I'm hoping that something is considered here because it affects a lot of people. I recently got my sister on to Plusnet TV also and it turns out she also is missing her freeview channels due to the aerial issue, if they were to be delivered like the rest of the channels we wouldn't have some people without them as we do now.

In regards to the BT Box Office thing being in the channel guide, this really needs to happen. Since BT Sport changed their format they've started to now put their events on the BT Sport Box Office channel which now means people on Plusnet no longer have a full package. We're seeing the fights being built up but can't even watch the fights any more as we don't even have the option, it's wrong really and those work arounds/getting Chromecasts etc.. that we're often told to do I don't agree with, I also tried a Chromecast (even though I didn't agree with being told to do this) recently too and it was awful and barely worked, plus my TV is mounted on the wall and the sockets are used up with other devices so it's very awkward.

I spoke to BT and Plusnet for months (and to a lesser degree Youview however it's down to the providers to update this) and was often told about the suggestion thing but nothing ever happened which eventually Plusnet called me and asked me to do the thread on the forum and explain everything so that if enough people demand it they can and will do it (although really it should be added anyway and we shouldn't have to demand it), I'm sure you get what I mean Smiley

This was the thread here: https://community.plus.net/t5/TV/BT-Sport-Box-Office-access-via-Plusnet-TV-I-was-asked-to-make-a/td-...

Anyway thank you so much for your time and help, really happy with Plusnet and think you guys are great but just wish you would add this channel though to the channel list, I know it's a PPV channel but the option needs to be there and it just needs to be added to the guide (which I've been told from multiple sources it can be done).

I hope this helps Smiley