cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netgear D7000

sarahjd22
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-01-2016

Re: Netgear D7000

Dear Rickie,
Thanks for putting that information on the web site,
I have the Netgear D7000 as I don't like using ISP supplied hardware, especially when I saw what arrived from PlusNet...
The problem I'm having is that once I select and apply the IPTV option, my connection goes and my Mac is cut of from the rest of the world. I can normally sort out networking problems, but once flunked an essay about routing tables... I'm alright now though!
Apart from loosing my connection, the D7000 always reverts back to Internet rather than IPTV. I can't understand why I loose my connection when applying IPTV, and am curious to know why you say to leave the username / password fields blank?
Before I switched to PlusNet after the TalkTalk security breech, and long running issues with their call centre staff (one of whom told me to ring Apple when I mentioned my MAC address, and one asked to speak to "my Mummy or Daddy" when I explained that my speech is slightly different due to cerebral palsy. Being asked that was the proverbial straw on the camel's back. I got the hump!!!
When I saw the PlusNet hardware, I rang Netgear who I do prefer anyway, and explained that I wanted IGMP as I would be with PlusNet and wanted to use Netgear. The guy spoke to a colleague and as soon as he mentioned PlusNet and YouView, his colleague immediately said that the D7000 was the one to get.
Until last night, I had the on demand services working no problem, but had paid for Sky channels which I wasn't getting, so set about looked at your screen cap and my router settings. I experienced what I described above, plus no data being carried by the wi-fi network. My Samsung will connect, but can't access anything online just as my iPad was doing. Despite that, I disabled the wired connection in my Mac System Preferences, and that is working on wi-fi... I can't understand that one!
If you could advise me in anyway, you'd make my day!  You don't live in Plymouth do you? :-))
Thanks again,
Sarah 
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

Send me a private message and I will send you a link to the test firmware which should resolve this - you need this test firmware to access plusnet IPTV.
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

Quote from: sarahjd22
am curious to know why you say to leave the username / password fields blank?

This is just in the IPTV part - like I said PM me on here and I can point you to the test firmware which WILL resolve this,.
The only reason I have not made the link publically available is that it is still "test firmware".
I live in the South East - used to live in Plymouth back in the day!
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

An eagle eyed pn user has seen that the D7000 has a new firmware update (http://support.netgear.com/product/D7000) - has anyone downloaded this and have their IPTV working?
The release notes are here: http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/30213 there is only mention of Talk Talk IPTV support - nothing about pn.
I am not going to rock the boat as my test firmware is rock solid.
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

I had an inbox message from someone who has upgraded to the new firmware who says that it fully works for pn IPTV - I haven't upgraded yet, will try at the weekend.
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
kdhuk
Grafter
Posts: 112
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎24-12-2011

Re: Netgear D7000

Seems the D7000 Firmware Version 1.0.0.26 has been pulled from the Netgear support site. Huh
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

I never bothered upgrading from my test firmware as I was reading that people were having issues - am on V1.0.0.20_1.0.1_TEST_0817 which I have uploaded here (if you need it): https://www.dropbox.com/s/0d9mowcex5xg9s7/D7000_V1.0.0.20_1.0.1_TEST_0817.img?dl=0
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
kdhuk
Grafter
Posts: 112
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎24-12-2011

Re: Netgear D7000

Another firmware upgrade released......
D7000 Firmware Version 1.0.0.32
http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/30427
tonym63
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎24-03-2016

Re: Netgear D7000

So what's the current situation with the D7000? Is the custom/test firmware still the only option to getting the TV fully functional?  Undecided
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

I got rid of PN IPTV, but I never upgraded to the new f/w so cannot comment.
Word is that it works fine, but I have the test firmware and settings kicking about if others have upgraded and found that the IPTV has stopped working.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
tonym63
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎24-03-2016

Re: Netgear D7000

It's not working at all for me on the current firmware (1.0.0.32). None of the internet channels are working - they're displaying theIPC6023 error. I think I'll have to try the alternative firmware route. I was unable to open/mount the .img from your dropbox link. Any chance you could re-up?
mav:quote
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

Try this link to the test firmware: https://www.dropbox.com/s/0d9mowcex5xg9s7/D7000_V1.0.0.20_1.0.1_TEST_0817.img?dl=0
And ensure the settings via the website UI are the same as here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/edxv9smlc81lg49/IMG_1588%20%281%29.jpg?dl=0 and ensure the following is selected via the UI too: https://www.dropbox.com/s/drzct7e1kjzp3md/Screen%20Shot%202015-10-27%20at%2009.53.14.png?dl=0
Hope this works for you.
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
tonym63
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎24-03-2016

Re: Netgear D7000

Thanks! Didn't need it in the end. Just re-ran the setup wizard with the official firmware and ticked the IPTV box! Works like a charm.
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

Great.
Glad it's working for you now.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
dickelliott
Grafter
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎15-07-2016

Re: Netgear D7000

Just been on to Netgear support and they tell me that there is a new firmware update that WILL work with plusnet iptv.

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/30041

If anyone finds that this does work would they please post it here