cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netgear D7000

ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

All sorted! That was a mission but it's working - those who end up buying this and need to know how to config this to use PN TV message me
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

In fact, here is the information I needed.
"The things that you need to set are:

Under Advanced tab->Internet Setup->IPTV (as shown in the screenshot)

1.      Check  ‘Enable this Interface’
2.      Check ‘Use VLAN_id’
3.      Set VLAN_id= 101
4.      Set priority= 0
5.      Under IPTV IP Address: Check ‘Use Static IP Address’
6.      Fill in ‘Static IP Address’, ‘IP Subnet Mask’, ‘Gateway IP Address’ like the screenshot
7.      Check ‘Use these DNS Servers’
8.      Fill in ‘Primary DNS’ and ‘Secondary DNS’
9.      Click the ‘Apply’ button."
I am using test firmware - however in a further reply the guy stated:
"Next step, we will hard code these settings into Plusnet auto setup, so when user does out of the box installation, run auto setup wizard/genie, select ISP=Plusnet, all internet and IPTV connection will be built automatically, so user does not need to manually configure it."
This was a mission to set up and I am thankful for those who got in touch and managed to get me linked up with a Netgear guy.
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

And, FYI, This is my set up (you don't need to use 1 port on the router for the IPTV) which works!
LAN1 - 10m Ethernet Cable to Gigabit TP-Link Switch connecting (amongst other things) Apple TV, Amazon Fire TV.......AND Youview Box
LAN2 - NAS Deivce
LAN3- NAS Device
LAN4 - VOIP Device
it's working like a dream.
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
kdhuk
Grafter
Posts: 112
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎24-12-2011

Re: Netgear D7000

So if I'm reading this right you need BOTH the test firmware that you're using AS WELL AS  the above settings?
..and you think that it looks like Netgear will incorporate everything into an imminent firmware upgrade?Huh
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

You could try to configure it with your current settings - apparently they will hardcode the settings (above) soon.
I have emailed you anyhow - try configuring it following the instructions with your current firmware, if not try what I have emailed you.
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
kdhuk
Grafter
Posts: 112
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎24-12-2011

Re: Netgear D7000

Thanks for all your efforts Cheesy
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

You're welcome, just hope people are not put off.
This router is super fast and access to IPTV is now a breeze.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

I know some people are following this thread, so I thought I would post another update.
IPTV is running good - tomorrow I will be testing another test firmware to see if the automated sign-up process within the UI, whereby you select PN as your ISP, also configures the IPTV correctly.  If this all works, then I understand they will be pushing this out as an updated firmware ASAP but maybe as late as the end of August.
In the meantime, as I understand it, you should be able to manually configure the IPTV part (from my previous posts) - it is super easy.
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

So I have the latest test firmware, and I can confirm that in setting up the router for the first time the IPTV settings are hardcoded and all is good.
I am not sure when the next release firmware will be live, so this automated process of logging into plusnet will automatically configure the settings.  And I am not sure if the settings are remotely loaded onto the router either.
Either way, it's good to go - if anyone does buy this router and the settings do not work for the IPTV send me a message and I can walk you through it.
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

Just to confirm, that the current stock firmware for this doesn't work for pn IPTV even if you configure it as I posted before.
Only the test firmware is working for the IPTV - if anyone buys this and cannot wait until they release the new firmware (allegedly end of August) then am happy to share the test firmware.
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
kdhuk
Grafter
Posts: 112
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎24-12-2011

Re: Netgear D7000

Thanks for the continuing info.
Your efforts get a mention on michty_me's review on Amazon........... http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/customer-reviews/RS26QGWY69OVR/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B00ZU1T8...
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

Yeh, he put me in touch with a Netgear guy who sorted it out. Only the test firmware currently connects to the PN IPTV. I tried the stock firmware last night and it doesn't connect the IPTV even after I configured it.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

Not sure if anyone else has bought this router yet.
It seems they are getting very close in releasing new firmware.  The current test firmware has the settings for pn IPTV hardcoded (as long as you select Plusnet as your ISP).
Other than that its all good!
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
davidb1
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎17-12-2010

Re: Netgear D7000

Hey Rickie just checking, the D7000 is a modem/router for DSL, I thought PN only supplied IPTV through Fibre, can this plug straight into the BT master socket on the wall?
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Netgear D7000

This is an all in one solution which replaces the plusnet router and the open reach white modem - so essentially you plug the grey cable from the phone socket to the D7000 - and after you have configured the router you're online,
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000