cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moving from Plusnet

FIXED
boise7
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎15-01-2018

Moving from Plusnet

Thinking of moving from Plusnet after several years but have a Plusnet Youview box with many hours of recorded programmes. These recordings are not from Plusnet Internet channels but the mainstream free-to-air channels.

If I move suppliers does this mean that I have to return the Youview box? or can I pay a fee to retain the box for future use?

Any help would be appreciated..

10 REPLIES 10
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,999
Thanks: 2,613
Fixes: 207
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Moving from Plusnet

Fix

https://community.plus.net/t5/TV/Do-you-keep-the-Youview-box-when-you-leave-Plusnet/td-p/1369882 should help

 

 

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

boise7
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎15-01-2018

Re: Moving from Plusnet

Many thanks, MisterW.

wisty
Pro
Posts: 591
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Moving from Plusnet

If you move to BT and take up their BT TV product, a factory reset (retaining recordings) on your existing YouView+ box will make it work with BT. At least that's what happened to me. You don't get BT's 4K channel, but everything else seems to work.

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 20,717
Thanks: 7,026
Fixes: 1,175
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Moving from Plusnet

Welcome to the community forums @boise7

I'm sorry to hear you're thinking of leaving us. Mind if I ask what's swaying your decision?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
boise7
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎15-01-2018

Re: Moving from Plusnet

I am just seeing how I stand should I wish to join TrueSpeed which is looking to provide FTTP in our area in the near future.
Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 20,717
Thanks: 7,026
Fixes: 1,175
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Moving from Plusnet

Ah ok. Those FTTP speeds are pretty nice. Is there a WBC FTTP product showing as available at www.dslchecker.bt.com which you could order through us?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
boise7
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎15-01-2018

Re: Moving from Plusnet

Yes but your fees are extremely high since it is 'on demand' and any request is treated as a one off.

Truespeed are targeting rural communities in SW England for FTTP and will only install where 30% of community takes up the offer thereby making it cost-effective should it happen.

I don't believe BT are interested in rolling out FTTP, rather than 'FTTP On Demand', generally unless you know otherwise.

Jaggies
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,642
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: Moving from Plusnet

Unless I missed a change, Plusnet FTTP customers aren't able to order a TV service, are they?

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 20,717
Thanks: 7,026
Fixes: 1,175
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Moving from Plusnet

That’s a good point @Jaggies I’ll admit I did forget about that. Sad
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,755
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Moving from Plusnet

And you both seemed to have missed the point that only FTTP on Demand is available. The OP seems to be talking about a private FTTP provider.