Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discontinuation of Freeview

FIXED
StephenMidlane
Hooked

Discontinuation of Freeview

I have had an email advising me to download BT TV as the Freeview service will cease this coming Tuesday. Will this affect my TV set ? It is an old Panasonic. As far as I can see it doesn't have an App store on it do I can't find BT TV. I am using a Freeview box. Will I be unable to view any TV or access players and apps after Tuesday? As you can tell I am not very tech savvy!
11 REPLIES 11
jgb
Aspiring Champion
Fixes: 15

Re: Discontinuation of Freeview

@StephenMidlane

This doesn't sound right. I cannot find any news  of Freeview ceasing next week nor even any need to retune then due to impending channel changes.

Who was the email from? It could be a scam. Do NOT click on any link in the email that supposedly takes you to a download site for BT TV .

If you use a Freeview box to access Freeview then the age of your old Panasonic TV should be irrelevant. Sometimes specific apps on smart TVs etc., do cease to work as the updated versions will not work on some older models but that does not sound like the warning you have had.

Jaggies
Community Veteran

This is almost certainly the retirement of the YouView mobile app, which is being replaced by the BTTV app, so unless you have a Plusnet TV subscription, it won't affect you.

djcjuk
Rising Star
Fixes: 3

It is the you Youview app that will stop working not Freeview.

StephenMidlane
Hooked

Thanks jgb. The email looks genuine. It's from plusnet@comm.plus.net. it quotes my username correctly and doesn't include any suspect links. It says "The new BT TV app is available now and is a great way to manage your service remotely. This will replace the YouView App which will no longer be in service from 31st March 2020."
StephenMidlane
Hooked

I am signed up with Plusnet TV !
DaveyH
Champion
Fixes: 12