cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

same as most companies, Everything works good until you need to contact them.

arttechuk
Grafter
Posts: 48
Thanks: 3
Registered: 04-06-2014

same as most companies, Everything works good until you need to contact them.

My plusnet products have been working very well, but im out dated on my slow old 5mb line, but i really do hate contacting big companies because that's when things always go wrong.

Anyway i did change my broadband product from 5mb to 75mb, But lo and behold my activation date came and went, and im still on the old slow 5mb connection. after doing a online chat and being on hold for 90mins the operator said i need to wait until the 26th as that's when my product is due to be completed despite me having an email stating the order was complete! so i waited until the 26th and guess what? yep still on the slow 5mb connection, So i contacted the plusnet online chat team again and the 1st operator put me on hold so he can pass me to a more technical operator and after another 80min waiting the operator said he has looked  at my account and my line needs something else so i can get the speeds required and that i need to wait until the 30th.

So plusnet you are not doing me proud, you are just the same as all the big corporate companies just driven by money.

14 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,776
Thanks: 108
Fixes: 32
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: same as most companies, Everything works good until you need to contact them.

Hi there, I'm really sorry to learn of the delays to getting you on the fibre service. I can see we do have an order due to complete on the 30th so please do let us know if there's any issues beyond that by replying back here and we'll get that chased up. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
arttechuk
Grafter
Posts: 48
Thanks: 3
Registered: 04-06-2014

Re: same as most companies, Everything works good until you need to contact them.

Thank you Adam but the order was due to complete on the 26th.
i was told " there is a modify order in place for you so that we can provide you the speeds you require, this should be activated for you on the 30/08/16"

Why could this have not been checked and corrected so it was ready for the 26th?

arttechuk
Grafter
Posts: 48
Thanks: 3
Registered: 04-06-2014

Re: same as most companies, Everything works good until you need to contact them.

This morning i received an email from plusnet, saying my first bill is ready.
You have already put the fibre broadband on it. you want me to pay for something ive never received?

"We'll soon be taking a payment of £53.32 for your service. This will leave
your account on or after 01/09/2016.

That's £27.49 for fibre broadband that i've never received!

what a shame you do not put as much effort into actually giving me my product as you do billing me.

MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: same as most companies, Everything works good until you need to contact them.

Your order is due to complete today, let us know how that goes for you.

I'll also get the charge for the fibre fully refunded for you as it's not been a smooth journey so far, apologies for that.

Matty

ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
arttechuk
Grafter
Posts: 48
Thanks: 3
Registered: 04-06-2014

Re: same as most companies, Everything works good until you need to contact them.

No surprise for me, But guess what? No change, same bb speeds!

arttechuk
Grafter
Posts: 48
Thanks: 3
Registered: 04-06-2014

Re: same as most companies, Everything works good until you need to contact them.

it was due to be completed today, But you useless [-Censored-] could not do it so im stuck on this same [-Censored-] 5mb line!

 

Moderator's note by Adie (Dvorak) Avoidance of swear filter removed

MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: same as most companies, Everything works good until you need to contact them.

I'm really sorry that issues are still going on here. I've chased up our suppliers and we have a bit of concrete information now.

It turns out that there are faulty connection ports at your local cabinet, so things are a little more complex than a typical migration. A more specialised engineer is needed to sort this out (along with some other parts to boot). We've been asked to check back up on the 6th.

Whilst it's not good news, I hope this adds a bit more background. I'll ensure that this is chased up by our provisioning team.

ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
arttechuk
Grafter
Posts: 48
Thanks: 3
Registered: 04-06-2014

Re: same as most companies, Everything works good until you need to contact them.

ok Thank you.
so at least im now getting some info on this. but a 6 day hold is a long time to wait considering it was suppose to be connected on the 26th of Aug and if i never said anything here i would now be paying for something i didn't have and nothing would have been done. ive had no letter and no contact from plusnet other than to say my bill was ready and the money would come out of my bank on the 1st.

If you can't provide the speeds advertised then you should not offer them to me.

MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: same as most companies, Everything works good until you need to contact them.

We should do, eventually. It's just there's a physical issue preventing us from doing that at the moment. Of course, we'll refund the difference

Matty

ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
arttechuk
Grafter
Posts: 48
Thanks: 3
Registered: 04-06-2014

Re: same as most companies, Everything works good until you need to contact them.

A joke this company is.
I was supposed to get fast broadband on my line on the 26th last month and was told by plusnet my line needed work at the cabinet, so i could not get my broadband until the 30th then they said the 6th now they are saying the 13th. you plusnet are a load of cowboys that don't know how to put the simplest of problems right!
you take money and you keep your fingers crossed that the equipment works , Because as soon as any slight little thing goes wrong your screwed, out of your depth and feed your customers with BS.

Im sick of plusnet and want to leave this contract to join another isp that can provide me with broadband.

 

Moderator's note by Dick (Strat) Avoidance of swear filter edited.

Moderator's note by Dick (Strat) All caps edited as per Forum rules

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: same as most companies, Everything works good until you need to contact them.

I understand the frustration but as the issue is a physical problem at the cabinet, it requires Openreach to resolve it. This would be the same with any provider trying to get Fibre activated at the cabinet I'm afraid.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
arttechuk
Grafter
Posts: 48
Thanks: 3
Registered: 04-06-2014

Re: same as most companies, Everything works good until you need to contact them.

over two weeks and 3 engineer call outs to the cabinet for a broadband connection that your advertising in my area and yet as soon as someone takes you up on the speeds that you're advertising, That's when you realize you can not provide the service that you say you can. so i have to sit and wait for open reach to tidy up the loose ends.

Let me tell you this.
Frustration is turning to anger and i will shout loud so everyone knows how slow things get done on the UK crappy service providers that seem to bottle neck around open reach.
no wonder virgin use their own equipment and i hope other providers start to bypass this terrible system.

RobPN
Pro
Posts: 819
Thanks: 82
Fixes: 3
Registered: 17-05-2013

Re: same as most companies, Everything works good until you need to contact them.


arttechuk wrote:


 no wonder virgin use their own equipment and i hope other providers start to bypass this terrible system.


So why don't you use Virgin?  Undecided

Oh hang on a minute, perhaps they don't have service in your area.  Grin

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,542
Thanks: 1,271
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: same as most companies, Everything works good until you need to contact them.

i could get virgin at my house , but would NOT ! their customer support is worse than here, Neighbour has terrible job trying to get them to fix things Shocked

also he get sick of them trying to sell him extras

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .