cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

You stuffed up my fibre installation

timothyharnett

You stuffed up my fibre installation

Thank you Plusnet for completely stuffing up my fibre installation. 
You forgot to send me the modem that was ordered and then you send an engineer who was not trained to install it without the modem ("I've never done a Plusnet installation before").  It took four calls to establish this and I'm going to have to take another day off work to have it done properly.
14 REPLIES 14
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385

Re: You stuffed up my fibre installation

BT supply the modem and the (BT) engineer should have brought it with him. Sounds like the engineer didn't have a clue as there's no difference in installing Fibre for any ISP. The ISP supplies the router but the BT engineer doesn't get involved with that, he tests from the modem.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

lexusuk
Grafter

Hi timothyharnett,
I'm sorry to hear that your Fibre installation did not go ahead as planned.  I will feed this back via the relevant channels.
Sadly our only option is to re-book the appointment in this scenario and before we can do this we have to wait for our ordering systems to update.  I can see that our provisioning team have scheduled to contact you tomorrow with regards to the re-booking.
timothyharnett

So would any router do with normal LAN/EWAN sockets do?  The advertized router is only £40 so it can't be anything special can it?
timothyharnett

This is getting worse.  I'm using a modern and quite expensive Billion 7800n router which does have an EWAN socket and should be compatible - some Infinity customers are using it.