cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why was Safe Surf turned on on my account

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Why was Safe Surf turned on on my account

I didn't do it so did you
16 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,637
Thanks: 868
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Why was Safe Surf turned on on my account

I've just found mine was on but I'm pretty sure I didn't put it on myself. I've used binary usenet in the past and it would have to be off for that. I'm wondering if it was put on when the account changed when I upgraded to FTTC.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Why was Safe Surf turned on on my account

That was my thought as well
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,059
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Why was Safe Surf turned on on my account

I've just checked, and we've got safe surf on too. I have no idea how long it's been on for, I don't even know if it would have been on by default years ago when we first signed up.
Does anyone know which direction it blocks those ports? Does it block incoming connections to TCP port 6881 on my IP, or does it block outgoing connections to port 6881 on external IP addresses? Or both?
gtowen
Rising Star
Posts: 353
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: 05-05-2013

Re: Why was Safe Surf turned on on my account

Just checked and mine is switched off atm, but I'm due to be upgraded to fibre on 3/12/2015.
I'll monitor the situation to see if in upgrading it is switched on.
Seems to be a touch of BT going on if it is, with BT's policy of now opting people into services they don't ask for as the norm Sad and thus increasing peoples monthly bills and BT's profits Sad
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,177
Thanks: 1,325
Fixes: 58
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Why was Safe Surf turned on on my account

Mine's off on ADSL.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,243
Thanks: 56
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: Why was Safe Surf turned on on my account

Just checked mine and it's off fibre unlimited extra,  so i dunno what is triggering it to be turned on by plusnet.
alanf
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 77
Fixes: 1
Registered: 17-10-2007

Re: Why was Safe Surf turned on on my account

I had never looked under Surf in my Control Panel. In my case it is ON. (ADSL)
I thought at first that you were discussing SafeGuard. In my case this is OFF.
I usually have the Internet Firewall set to HIGH but recently set it LOW to sort out some issues. The Internet Firewall also blocks various ports.
There seem to be a lot of overlap between these three features and I find it all very confusing.

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,510
Thanks: 555
Fixes: 1
Registered: 21-03-2011

Re: Why was Safe Surf turned on on my account

Surf is off on my business copper ADSL. I've also deactivated the firewall within the PN router as it was doing strange things to SIP.
Now Zen, but a +Net residue.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,098
Thanks: 895
Fixes: 74
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Why was Safe Surf turned on on my account

I don't think Safe Surf does anything anymore TBH. Interesting that a lot of you are finding it switched on though Huh

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,682
Thanks: 111
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: Why was Safe Surf turned on on my account

interesting I don't have safe surf switched on but I noticed that auto setup was enabled yet again and unlike most times I've randomly found it switched back on it seems I cannot disable it any more any particular reason why this is constantly changing itself ?
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,098
Thanks: 895
Fixes: 74
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Why was Safe Surf turned on on my account

There's two hardware components associated with your account, one enabled, one disabled. I can try disabling both at this side if you like?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,682
Thanks: 111
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: Why was Safe Surf turned on on my account

ahh no I think one of those items might cease to work if you did that ><
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,637
Thanks: 868
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Why was Safe Surf turned on on my account

No it wouldn't - it would just mean that after a hard reset you'd have to enter the user name and password manually as the automatic setup wouldn't work. It just puts you in the same state as if you'd bought your own router.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,098
Thanks: 895
Fixes: 74
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Why was Safe Surf turned on on my account

^ What he said  Smiley

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵