cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why are Plusnet so useless for new provides with home phone?

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,720
Thanks: 934
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Why are Plusnet so useless for new provides with home phone?

Last January I moved to this house. My phone was with BT (and still is). I ordered the move from BT and obtained a simultaneous provide code from them. I then contacted Plusnet, ordered the broadband move for the same day and gave them the simultaneous provide code. It all worked perfectly BT phone and Plusnet broadband went live on the day I moved in.
I'm now about to move again, so I've tried starting the order process with Plusnet. With Plusnet Home Phone I can't have a simultaneous provide, I have to wait 5-7 working days for the broadband after the phone is activated.
This is absolutely ludicrous - if a competitor is providing the phone Plusnet can activate broadband on the same day, but if they are doing both when it should be easier they can't!
It seems to me that Plusnet's problem is that they don't get the simultaneous provide code from BTw when they raise the phone order which means they can't then use it when placing the broadband order.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
10 REPLIES
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Why are Plusnet so useless for new provides with home phone?

We should be able to do a simultaneous provide.
Leave it with me and I'll see what we can do.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,720
Thanks: 934
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Why are Plusnet so useless for new provides with home phone?

James,
I'm probably going to stay with BT for the phone.
[list type=lower-alpha]
  • It worked last time
  • If I get a phone fault BT will give me free diversion to a mobile
    [br]My post was more because I think you are not serving your users best interests. We frequently see posts from people frustrated about the delay in activating the broadband. It is unnecessary if you got your act together and sorted out your system. If you could do it for me you should be able to do it for everyone.
  • jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
       Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
    Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
    Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
    Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
    James
    Grafter
    Posts: 21,036
    Registered: ‎04-04-2007

    Re: Why are Plusnet so useless for new provides with home phone?

    John,
    Not disputing that at all.  I am surprised that we would not offer to do this as a simultaneous order and wanted to get one of my team to find out why.
    If you would like me to get an order placed then I would be happy to do so but understand why you would be apprehensive of doing so.
    Community Veteran
    Posts: 26,720
    Thanks: 934
    Fixes: 10
    Registered: ‎10-04-2007

    Re: Why are Plusnet so useless for new provides with home phone?

    I tried it as an automatic online order and that was what it came up with.
    jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
       Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
    Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
    Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
    Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
    brueton
    Grafter
    Posts: 309
    Thanks: 5
    Registered: ‎03-07-2009

    Re: Why are Plusnet so useless for new provides with home phone?

    If you need another example.
    I have just moved house. My phone and broadband were with Plusnet at my old house.
    Phone at new house was switched to Plusnet on 29/01/2013, got a phone call in the evening to say it had transferred OK  Smiley but that broadband would be transferred a week later on 05/02/2013  Sad.
    I had assumed the phone and broadband would be moved at the same time.
    I am lucky enough to get a wireless signal from a neighbour (they have agreed I can use it) who is also with Plusnet, but I am worried that I am using too much of their 10GB allowance. Keep checking each day and have stopped using iPlayer etc.
    Pete
    Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
    Plusnet Alumni (retired)
    Posts: 5,369
    Fixes: 1
    Registered: ‎13-07-2012

    Re: Why are Plusnet so useless for new provides with home phone?

    It does depend on the nature of the tranfer and if we need to give the lose provider notice, there a quite a few different scenarios. We'll always aim to activate your services at the earliest date possible.
    brueton
    Grafter
    Posts: 309
    Thanks: 5
    Registered: ‎03-07-2009

    Re: Why are Plusnet so useless for new provides with home phone?

    Lose provider BT for phone, no broadband.
    James
    Grafter
    Posts: 21,036
    Registered: ‎04-04-2007

    Re: Why are Plusnet so useless for new provides with home phone?

    Quote from: PeteB
    I have just moved house. My phone and broadband were with Plusnet at my old house.
    Phone at new house was switched to Plusnet on 29/01/2013, got a phone call in the evening to say it had transferred OK   Smiley but that broadband would be transferred a week later on 05/02/2013  Sad.
    Pete

    Thanks Pete.
    It depends on whether or not we can just restart a phone line at the new address.  If we can do that, it's really quick and then we would order broadband afterwards. However, if we are doing a new line installation that requires an engineer, it makes sense to do this as a sim order.
    Community Veteran
    Posts: 26,720
    Thanks: 934
    Fixes: 10
    Registered: ‎10-04-2007

    Re: Why are Plusnet so useless for new provides with home phone?

    When I contacted BT to enquire they said that if the phone in the property is currently active with no cancellation they would contact the current customer to confirm that the line was OK to be ceased and re-provided to me. Obviously they would use that as an opportunity to try to retain them at their new address.
    I'd have said that it would make more sense to do a sim provide on an existing line takeover. If it requires an engineers visit, as we've seen far too often recently, there is a good chance he won't turn up which would lead to to broadband order failing and probably a longer delay.
    jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
       Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
    Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
    Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
    Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
    James
    Grafter
    Posts: 21,036
    Registered: ‎04-04-2007

    Re: Why are Plusnet so useless for new provides with home phone?

    Quote from: jelv
    When I contacted BT to enquire they said that if the phone in the property is currently active with no cancellation they would contact the current customer to confirm that the line was OK to be ceased and re-provided to me. Obviously they would use that as an opportunity to try to retain them at their new address.

    What this is likely to actually mean is that they will place a WLT (Working Line Takeover) and send notification to the losing supplier (may well be themselves) that an order has been placed on the line.  The losing supplier would then have to give that person notice under GC24.