cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Very dissapopinted in PN service.

wayyoung
Rising Star
Posts: 126
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Very dissapopinted in PN service.

I have been a relatively happy PN customer for some years however my recent experience of an 'upgrade' from ADSL to Fibre has left a sour taste in my mouth.
Communication from PN is poor. I seem to be expected to chase them up when I am the customer! I am regularly told "it's 72 hours for an update", only then to be told it may actually be another 48 hours on top of that due to network issues! I'm told we can't escalate this issue, only to be told the next day "I can escalate that for you". Imagine if I decided to pay my bill using the same tactics - I'll pay my bill in 3 days, no make that 5!
I wish I had not bothered  and stayed with an ADSL connection. Over 2 weeks paying for an upgrade that has marginally faster downstream and a 1/3 of my previous upstream is not what I signed up for. I realise I may get some of this refunded eventually.
I shall be patient and wait to see the outcome of this, but first chance I get I will probably find a new service provider, even though it may cost me more.
Plusnet were good, and are good. So long as everything works fine. If it breaks, be prepared for a long silent wait.
Rant over.
--
Tony
19 REPLIES
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Very dissapopinted in PN service.

Is that not like how talk talk are,ok if it,s working but customer service is rubbish. Smiley
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,759
Thanks: 4,019
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Very dissapopinted in PN service.

Setting aside the communication issues and the dire wait times on the phones, your problem is most likely down to the BTOR owned infrastructure.  Changing ISPs will not change your local connection.  I would suspect a bodged FTTC install. Would you know if it was done by a proper BTOR engineer or was it one of their sub contractors?
wayyoung
Rising Star
Posts: 126
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Re: Very dissapopinted in PN service.

Thanks for the reply Townman.

This is what I'm thinking - A possible bodged install/failed provision. I have put this to PN but it's 5 days since reporting this and there appears to have been no movement.
The engineer arrived in an OR van and had the clothing so presumably he was an OR employee. But he did admit to being a 'phone faults' guy and not being too technical so I think that leaves a window for an accidental mistake.
I would just like a simple answer from PN/OP why my Upstream is so [Censored] and my downstream barely any better than ADSL. Not a lot to ask for from a paying customer I would think.
--
Tony
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,814
Thanks: 561
Fixes: 213
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Very dissapopinted in PN service.

Our tests aren't showing any issues but I can see our Faults team should be picking this up for you shortly.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
wayyoung
Rising Star
Posts: 126
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Re: Very dissapopinted in PN service.

Thank you for your time Matthew,
I have been told this once or twice but I refuse to accept it.
How can my fibre connection have a third of the upstream compared to my ADSL? Downstream is barely any better. <---THIS IS NOT AN UPGRADE

========
"Chat reference: 4312557549
*****: Thank you for waiting Tony, I do apologise that you have not yet recieved an update. What I have done is escalated this through my team leader, they will personally assign this to a faults agent who will contact you directly with an update, this will be before 5pm today."
========
Perhaps not so surprisingly, I have heard nothing at all! And so I shall have to wait another 48 hours until Monday.
Absolutely shocking customer service, again. It just seems to keep coming and coming.
Tony
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,815
Thanks: 1,189
Fixes: 68
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Very dissapopinted in PN service.

Tests not showing any issues means exactly that - it does not mean there aren't any issues, and in your case clearly there are.
The faults team should be going deeper into the problem which hopefully *will* identify problems. But lack of updates is unfortunately not going to convince you that the problem is being taken seriously. Sad
If nothing is found an engineer visit will be needed to carry out tests from your property. Have you already carried out tests to eliminate internal issues?
David
David
wayyoung
Rising Star
Posts: 126
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Re: Very dissapopinted in PN service.

Hi Spraxyt,
Thanks for your input. Your understanding of my position is very much appreciated. It's a pitty it's not being replicated by PN :-(
I removed all of my telephone extension wiring as it wasnt really needed. The only wiring on my telephone line is the incoming wired to the master socket. Nowt else! I have tested with PN Hub One/TP-Link W9980 direct into test socket with the same results.
Something is amiss here. All I want is the promised upgrade I paid for and not to be felt like I'm being ignored/not taken seriously/fobbed off as a paying customer!

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,815
Thanks: 1,189
Fixes: 68
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Very dissapopinted in PN service.

Those checks should have confirmed the problem is outside your property. Despite this if an engineer is booked you will be warned of a £50 charge if the fault is found internal to your property. Don't let that put you off.
One thing to be aware of, the term "escalation" does not necessarily mean what you probably assume it means - it also describes being moved sideways within Plusnet to a team with different (specialist) expertise.
Plusnet might have difficulty getting an engineer visit booked if tests don't identify a fault. It would have to be on the strength of poor performance. Am I correct in assuming the pre-upgrade estimated performance is much better than you are getting now?
David
wayyoung
Rising Star
Posts: 126
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Re: Very dissapopinted in PN service.

Current line speed is well below the lowest estimate range -
Telephone number:
    01730******
Phone exchange:
    MIDHURST
Estimated line speed:
    21Mb (This may vary between 14.7Mb and 21Mb) - Checked on 2015-11-19 21:05:00
Current line speed:
    11.9 Mb
I worked in Tech Support for many years for a London based national (now Pan-European ISP). This was when Tech Support/Customer Support where 2 different departments. It all seems to have blended together now. We used to take an issue and see it through to conclusion. We would regularly escalate issues and if that meant discussing it with a Manager or Sys Admin, through to a conclusion, that's what we'd do to get things sorted. That's how you learned. You were encouraged to do so. It made you better at your job with each case as your accumulated knowledge on the subject increased. This was before 'managers' with no IT knowledge began to infiltrate IT departments and tell you how you were supposed to do your job.  I get the feeling that perhaps things have changed beyond this now and I'm glad I don't work in IT any more :-)
When I had the engineer here during the install, I asked him for an indication of the line speed. He reported 21.6Mbps. Whether that was his own measurement of the pre-install estimate I do not know. I haven't seen anything near that myself. The best being 16000Mbps <---I think I'd take that now :-)
I'm not worried about the threat of an engineer visit fee. There is no internal wiring in my house. So it cannot be that. As explained the incoming cable to my NET5 master socket/filtered faceplate (fitted by BTOP engineer) is the only telephony wiring in the building. All others were removed when I moved in pre FTTC install.
My telephone line is also clear with no discernible noise at all.
Community Veteran
Posts: 484
Thanks: 39
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎26-09-2015

Re: Very dissapopinted in PN service.

What were your synch speeds and profile speed on ADSL?  What are they now on fibre?
wayyoung
Rising Star
Posts: 126
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Re: Very dissapopinted in PN service.

Thanks for the interest aesmith
I don't have that info to hand but from memory my ADSL2 downstream sync was about 10100Mbps and upstream 1150Mbps roughly, bearing in mind it fluctuated slightly. Don't ever remember checking what IP profile I was on.
Curently IP profile is 12.05Mbps and my router reports a current sync of -
Upstream Downstream
Current Rate (Kbps) 595 12392
The router is in the exact same position. No new electrical devices in the house. Xmas tree lights have no effect, etc.
I used to live 800+m further from the exchange but had a lesser Line Attenuation!
--
Tony
Community Veteran
Posts: 484
Thanks: 39
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎26-09-2015

Re: Very dissapopinted in PN service.

Cheers, I think you may M where you mean K -  your ADSL 2+ was probably 10,100K down and 1150K up.    So your "upgrade" to fibre only increased the data rate from 10meg to 12meg, whereas you were led to expect around 18meg?  And the upload speed is clearly goosed in some way.    What about the equipment at your end, are you using an Openreach VDSL modem and separate router, or do you have your own all-in-one VDSL modem/router?    We could probably do with seeing full line stats from your modem (or router) and speed test results.
wayyoung
Rising Star
Posts: 126
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Re: Very dissapopinted in PN service.

Yip, your right. k and not M :-)
I was estimated between 14-7 to 21.6 so I'm well below that.
I've provided PN with a series of BTW speed tests. Here is one (they all same the same really) -
BTW test @06:40 0n 15/12/15 -
Download speedachieved during the test was - 9.59 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 8.47 Mbps-12.11 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 12.11 Mbps
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.41Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 2 Mbps
Router stats may be a problem as my TP-Link W9980 has none that are of any use and RouterStats doesn't support it ATM. No OP modem in use.
I do have a PN supplied Hub One but poor wireless performance makes it of no use to me. Not sure if it  supplies more stats as it was only used for an initial connection so not very acquainted with it. I'll see what I can do though.
Thanks,
Tony
Community Veteran
Posts: 484
Thanks: 39
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎26-09-2015

Re: Very dissapopinted in PN service.

Checking with another router is worthwhile in any case.  I'm wondering if something in your TP Link needs to be set different for VDSL.