cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upload speeds are worse than useless compared to my last ISP

southheathen
Dabbler

Upload speeds are worse than useless compared to my last ISP

Why is it that my upload speeds are so poor? I changed to Plusnet to take advantage of Fibre optic, due to BT not upgrading faulty equipment at the box (DSLAM card) I am now left with a broadband service that I never wanted and is totally useless to me. Whereas I always used to get a slow 1meg upload from BE Internet, I am now getting as low as 20% of that from .2 to .4 meg and I need upload speed when I am at home because I am a Web Developer. I have been given a review date of September for BT to pull their finger out, but if they actually do something I would be amazed!
12 REPLIES 12
Pettitto
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Fixes: 5

Re: Upload speeds are worse than useless compared to my last ISP

Hi southheathen,
I'm really sorry to hear that you're having problems with your upload speeds. I can place an order tomorrow morning to uncap your upload speeds if you'd like?
The upload speeds are likely to be in the region of 1Mb or maybe a little lower.
southheathen
Dabbler

I signed up for fibre, if I wanted broadband I would have stayed with BE Internet, their service was better with faster download and MUCH faster upload speeds. I told Plusnet that I was a web developer from day one, common sense should have prevented upload capping to a user like me. Frankly I am incensed with the whole business, Plusnet promised so much but delivered nothing and don't even get me started on BTOpenreach, any thoughts I have on that shower would be unprintable!
Pettitto
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)

I completely appreciate the the circumstances that you've outlined and I'm more than happy to take a look into your connection as well as any issues that you have with ourselves and your upload speed.