cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unlimited fibre extra removal

Stojom
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-06-2023

Unlimited fibre extra removal

A few weeks ago I was offered an upgrade to above service from unlimited fibre. That offer has been removed and replaced by full fibre which removes the landline phone. I do not want to lose my landline as mobile’s performance are erratic. Strangely unlimited fibre extra is still being offered to new customer’s, why

21 REPLIES 21
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,803
Thanks: 5,790
Fixes: 267
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Unlimited fibre extra removal

@Stojom Can you post a screenshot of the output from this link BT Broadband  , obscuring your phone number?

John
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,803
Thanks: 5,790
Fixes: 267
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Unlimited fibre extra removal

@Stojom I'm confused - how did my reply answer your question?

John
Stojom
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-06-2023

Re: Unlimited fibre extra removal

John, I’m as confused as you. Just went to the site then returned and that’s the result. As a newbie don’t understand reason for requiring screenshot as cannot complete required information there.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,965
Thanks: 5,335
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Unlimited fibre extra removal


Moderators Note

 

Fix removed pending further information 

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,965
Thanks: 5,335
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Unlimited fibre extra removal

@Stojom 

In case @jab1 is not around I expect that he’s trying to determine whether you’ve just been moved into a BT stop sell area.

Another option is to ring the Customer Options Team on 0800 013 2632, quote the offer price and ask them to honour it. They will then confirm whether it can still be supplied.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,803
Thanks: 5,790
Fixes: 267
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Unlimited fibre extra removal

@Stojom The reason I ask for a screenshot from that site is because it will enable me, or another Community member, to see what is available to you, according to BT, and the reason, I suspect, why you are unable to upgrade to Unlimited Fibre Extra.

John
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,483
Thanks: 5,988
Fixes: 425
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Unlimited fibre extra removal

@Stojom what @jab1  is looking for is to see if your exchange is 'Fibre priority' see my attached example.

If in the Exchange Product Restrictions , it says 'Y' against Fibre priority, then no orders can be placed for new copper based products e.g Unlimited Fibre Extra by any ISP. You can continue with your existing Fibre unlimited ( and recontract ) but Openreach will not accept any orders for new products except FTTP

 

as cannot complete required information there

You only need to enter the phone number OR use the address version and enter the post code , then select from the list of addresses

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Stojom
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-06-2023

Re: Unlimited fibre extra removal

Can’t understand why plusnet can offer it to new customers but not existing ones. This seems to contradict what bt are stating as you said. I realise landlines will become obsolete in their present form but that’s in 2025 so no need to do it yet!

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,483
Thanks: 5,988
Fixes: 425
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Unlimited fibre extra removal

Can’t understand why plusnet can offer it to new customers but not existing ones

It doesnt depend on whether you are an existing or new customer, it depends on your location and the availability of FTTP in your area. A new customer in a 'Fibre priority' area cannot order Unlimited Fibre (or Extra).

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Stojom
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-06-2023

Re: Unlimited fibre extra removal

Thanks for that,  although those comparison sites show that my post code is supposedly compatible with the package I wanted . Btw will it affect me when my existing unlimited fibre package expires?

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,483
Thanks: 5,988
Fixes: 425
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Unlimited fibre extra removal

although those comparison sites show that my post code is supposedly compatible with the package I wanted 

They will, because they only look at basic availability , they dont look at the restrictions.

Btw will it affect me when my existing unlimited fibre package expires?

You will only be able to recontract on the same product OR upgrade to Full fibre (FTTP) . You should be able to move to a different supplier, but only (in theory) on the Unlimited Fibre(40/10) product or to an FTTP product. I say , in theory, because whilst the Openreach rules say a move between suppliers is possible only on the 40/10 product, there's anecdotal evidence that some suppliers systems see the 'Fibre priority' flag and wont allow a move to anything other than FTTP.

For info the Openreach stop sell rules for Fibre priority ( and WLR ) are detailed here https://www.openreach.co.uk/cpportal/products/the-all-ip-programme/stopsell-updates . It's not light reading though as it uses a lot of 'jargon'

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,475
Thanks: 1,175
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Unlimited fibre extra removal

@Stojom 

Unless I've missed it, you don't appear to have stated if your Exchange is Fibre Priority or not. This matters in the advice you can receive.

 

As for FTTP although PN don't do landlines with their product it appears you can now transfer out your phone number to a VOIP provider immediately after FTTP is installed. Andrews and Arnold appear to know what they're doing.

https://www.aa.net.uk/voice-and-mobile/voip-information/

 

Brian

RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,764
Thanks: 1,438
Fixes: 59
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Unlimited fibre extra removal

@Stojom You are making this overly difficult for yourself and other forum members, have you used the link @jab1 provided in post #2 of this thread?

It is not a comparison site, it will tell you the available products and expected speeds for your premises using your telephone number or specific address.

Below is an edited example of the page for my phone number, what does it show for your number, does it show the top 2 VDSL lines and available on the right hand side, if these are present you can order an upgrade assuming you can get speeds above 40Mpbs download. However if Exchange Product Restrictions show FTTP Priority Exchange as status Y (yes) then the VDSL products will not be available and you will see only FTTP products available. You can remain on your existing product but not upgrade.

Of course it could just be a Plusnet system error so if the VDSL products are offered give them a call to check.

@MisterW  @others This thread didn't seem to be getting anywhere so I am trying to clarify the situation to determine if the exchange is FTTP priority🤔

BT_Products.png

 

 

Stojom
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-06-2023

Re: Unlimited fibre extra removal

I have now accessed the broadband checker as you advised and there is an N against the priority exchange and a note below that FTTP IS NOT AVAILABLE.