cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thinking of changing back to Plusnet BUT

jmd
Grafter
Posts: 2,933
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Thinking of changing back to Plusnet BUT

want to leave landline/calls as they are[have paid line rental upfront] so thought about just changing to fibreoptic broadband.  But when I check this on the website it insists on me ording phone etc even though the website says you offer Broadband only!
So why does the advert offer broadband only but the website does not allow it?
14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,187
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Thinking of changing back to Plusnet BUT

Saw one of the rep's reply to a similar question, as long as its a BT line its ok to order fibre without the homephone
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,087
Thanks: 47
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Thinking of changing back to Plusnet BUT

Just gone to the home page, selected "broadband only", filled in my neighbours number (he doesn't have broadband), selected fibre and got a confirmation page with options including Phone: Current choice: no phone  Roll eyes
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
jmd
Grafter
Posts: 2,933
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Thinking of changing back to Plusnet BUT

I treied to show did not want phone but it brought that back up again!  Will have another look.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Thinking of changing back to Plusnet BUT

Does this link work?
https://portal.plus.net/home-broadband/fibre/broadband-only/
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
jmd
Grafter
Posts: 2,933
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Thinking of changing back to Plusnet BUT

No - if you continue on that page it still adds the monthly cost of landline to order which at present I do not want.  So will probably have to stick with Sky or wait until October when my rental upfront payment ends.
marcusd
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 26-02-2013

Re: Thinking of changing back to Plusnet BUT

Cannot believe anyone would want to change over to Plusnet after reading the posts in this forum. Had I read/been aware of this forum before then I certainly wouldn't of chosen them. I'm sure not all customers receive this terrible treatment but after my experience then it does make we wonder!?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Thinking of changing back to Plusnet BUT

Try reading the ones on others forums! Those that aren't censored/blocked/banned that is!  Lips are sealed
It's the nature of these places, complaints arrive, thanks rarely do.  Wink
Some other ISP's also have constructive/helpful forums, many don't.
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,087
Thanks: 47
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Thinking of changing back to Plusnet BUT

Quote from: jmdlp
No - if you continue on that page it still adds the monthly cost of landline to order which at present I do not want. 

At what point does add it in? I've gone though "customise package" to "create your account" and it has not added in the phone.

Your order All prices include VAT
Today's payment
Essentials Fibre Broadband (First month)    £15.99
Activation fee    £50.00
Router P&P    £5.99
Today's total    £71.98
Monthly payment
Essentials Fibre Broadband    £15.99
Monthly total    £15.99
Contract    18 months

I'm not prepared to go further, my neighbour may not want broadband ordered  Shocked Huh Roll eyes
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Thinking of changing back to Plusnet BUT

Hi jmdlp (and welcome back Smiley )
If you follow the link w23 posted above you should be fine, if it's still adding phone to the order please try clearing all cookies then restarting the browser, that should sort it out?
jmd
Grafter
Posts: 2,933
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Thinking of changing back to Plusnet BUT

Will try again!
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Thinking of changing back to Plusnet BUT

Thanks very much, hope it works - please let us know.
jmd
Grafter
Posts: 2,933
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Thinking of changing back to Plusnet BUT

Still wants me to have the phone as well!  So Matt Taylor before you really welcome me back, before I phone you next week are there any incentives to make me realy want to move back given some of comments I have read on here?
Like free activation? 

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,453
Thanks: 793
Fixes: 52
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Thinking of changing back to Plusnet BUT

If your current phone service is with Sky I assume that's fully unbundled too. Since Plusnet broadband requires a BT based line…
[quote=Here's the legal bit]
Broadband and Fibre Broadband
You'll need a Plusnet or other BT based landline to get our broadband.
… perhaps that is why the website insists on phone being included.
So maybe no can do until (and if) you are happy to move your phone back to a BT based service. Sad
David
jmd
Grafter
Posts: 2,933
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Thinking of changing back to Plusnet BUT

Oh well, perhaps leave any change then until October as I paid up front for phone line rental until then.